First things to do with my first mac

Discussion in 'iMac' started by reeceado, Aug 9, 2010.

  1. reeceado macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2010
    #1
    Hi
    today i ordered the iMac quad core i5 :D
    im new to mac
    what should i do first with it e.g software update any good apps?
    cheers
    Reece
     
  2. rkaufmann87 macrumors 68000

    rkaufmann87

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    Location:
    Folsom, CA
    #2
    When it arrives just set it up per the instructions. It will automatically check for any updates. If you haven't already I'd recommend spending some time getting familiar with:

    http://www.apple.com/support/switch101/

    http://www.apple.com/support/mac101/

    Regarding the apps, well there are lots could you give us any idea what type of apps might interest you?

    Regards,

    Roger
     
  3. reeceado thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2010
    #3
    Ermmm
    Twitter eBay sports news. Apple news
    Cheers
     
  4. rkaufmann87 macrumors 68000

    rkaufmann87

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    Location:
    Folsom, CA
    #4
    You can do all that from Safari so I don't see any necessary apps so far. Spend some time with Mac 101 once it has arrived. Here are a couple of good sites to help locate apps you might be interested in.

    www.Apple.com/downloads

    www.macupdate.com/
     
  5. SiMBa37 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2010
    Location:
    New York
    #5
    You don't even need an iMac for that. You can do all that with a phone. :)
     
  6. reeceado thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2010
    #6
    Lol im doing programming and software dev at college
     
  7. dexthageek macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2007
    #7
    What type of dev?
    C++, Cocoa, Java, Objective C?

    I would install the latest version of Xcode!
     
  8. reeceado thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2010
    #8
    Thats the first thing I was goin to do lol
    Objective-c, cocoa and bit of C
    :)
     
  9. iCaleb macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010
    Location:
    USA
  10. Maltkvist macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2010
    Location:
    Sweden
    #10
    Watch some good HD porn on that beautiful screen ;-)
     
  11. Dwhite78 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2010
    #11
    Do yourself a favor and make the first account you setup the admin account. Once you login go to system preferences > users and create your user account. Log out of admin and into yor newly created account. Any time you need to install a program or something, simply type your admin username and password. This will make your system much more secure.
     
  12. reeceado thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2010
  13. Dwhite78 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2010
    #13
    Yes you can. But doing it this way prevents programs or scripts from running/installing without your permission. The few mac exploits that exist are from these types of hacks.
     
  14. DarthMoops macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2010
    Location:
    Baltimore MD
    #14
    Make unboxing video for youtube.
    ;)
     
  15. Spike88 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2010
    #15
    As first "addition" to your new iMac, seriously consider getting an immediate external HDD device. This hardware can be configured with "included" Mac OS Time Machine application. External HDDs can be connected via firewire800 (super fast) or USB 2.0 (average fast). If into backups, I'd focus on a Firewire800 connected external HDD.

    To me, backups should come after OS and base Apps. After the backup device is "in production", one then starts creating their data. Backups should never be the typical "oh - I'll get backups later..." things in life...

    I hear some folks use "Western Digital 1TB My Book Studio Hard Drive" (re: http://store.apple.com/us/product/TX879ZM/A) and are very pleased with it. Regardless of one's external HDD, do shop around. Selling prices do dramatically vary. Especially when compared to Apple Store items.

    Hope this helps...

    .
     
  16. ACKRITE macrumors member

    ACKRITE

    Joined:
    May 11, 2008
    Location:
    West Hartford, CT
    #16
    I second ^ 1000%! My new i7 has two 2TB WD Studio Edition II HDDs daisyed to it via FW800. The first is running RAID 1 and serves as my iTunes library. The second is running RAID 0 and is the target volume for Time Machine. Ever since an Apple Time Capsule crashed on me and I had to redigitize nearly 500GB of audio, I am a militant back-up proponent.

    So yes, get an external hard drive, preferably w/ Firewire, and use Time Machine. So easy a donkey could do it!

    Best,

    -A
     

Share This Page