First time buyer: I want my iMac NOW!

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by ChicaMadrid, May 24, 2007.

1. ChicaMadrid macrumors newbie

So I have been thinking about switching to macs for a long time. And I'm finally ready to do it. I walk into the Apple store and just fell in love with the 17" screen iMac. I'm a PR freelancer so I do mostly writing, but I'm also a musician and want to do some things with garage band and in the future, I may invest in setting up a mini home recording studio - nothing big.

But now I see that buying a mac is very much like playing the stock market. You have to buy at the right time. I've seen the rumors that the iMacs will be updated, but that the 17" might go away. Two problems with this: The 20" screen gave me a headache and 2) I cannot afford to 20" iMac. So what do I do?

Should I 1) Wait until the new iMac is released and get the cheapest of the new version 2) Get the 17" when the price goes through the floor because it's discontinued 3) Wait until I have more money to get the iMac pro.

It's just confusing. On the one hand, i want to wait and see, but I'm dreaming about the iMac. And what if the new generation of iMacs has growing pains, assuming it would take a few reworks to get the new ones perfect. And what if the "striking industrial design" doesn't leave me smitten? This is seriously more stressful than buying a car! :eek:

2. Kamera RAWr macrumors 65816

Kamera RAWr

Well, I would recommend at least waiting until WWDC. I can't image the new iMac design not being very sexy :D . Its only about 2 1/2 weeks away. You can wait ;) . As far as what to buy... I'd always suggest to buy the most you might need and be able to afford. I think you'll find that the 20" isn't really that bad, if the 17" dies off. Why did it happen to give you a headache?

3. MagicUK macrumors regular

MagicUK

Sounds good.