Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

MichaelBarry

macrumors member
Original poster
Apr 14, 2009
London
I've had my first dslr (a200 + 18-70mm kit lens) for 3 days and last night I went to a concert of my friends and I took some photos.

this is my first time I've ever shot at a concert with a dslr and so it would be nice to hear some suggestions as to how i can improve.

at the beginning I cranked up my ISO to max, 3200, and just accepted the ridiculous noise because i didn't take into account the bright backlighting but half way through I metered from the bassist's body, locked the exposure, recomposed and refocused and took the photo (with a much lower ISO - 400) and this got better results.

the order of the photos goes from left to right like:
1 2
3 4

anyway please give me some suggestions thanks.
p.s I thought the grain looked better in B&W

Attachments

• The Upstarts at Academy 3 269 - Version 2.jpg
    The Upstarts at Academy 3 269 - Version 2.jpg
    134.2 KB · Views: 135
  • The Upstarts at Academy 3 318 - Version 2.jpg
    The Upstarts at Academy 3 318 - Version 2.jpg
    125.4 KB · Views: 107
  • The Upstarts at Academy 3 416 - Version 2.jpg
    The Upstarts at Academy 3 416 - Version 2.jpg
    79.2 KB · Views: 115
  • The Upstarts at Academy 3 431 - Version 2.jpg
    The Upstarts at Academy 3 431 - Version 2.jpg
    74.6 KB · Views: 90
  • The Upstarts at Academy 3 459 - Version 3.jpg
    The Upstarts at Academy 3 459 - Version 3.jpg
    112.2 KB · Views: 117

PeteB

macrumors 6502a
Jan 14, 2008
You did well there, you have some nice shots and you captured the vibe pretty well. Good to see you're not scared of high iso.

iBookG4user

macrumors 604
Jun 27, 2006
Seattle, WA