First time iMac user. Problems with photos from iphone

Discussion in 'iMac' started by Olivia23, Mar 14, 2015.

1. Olivia23 macrumors 6502a

Olivia23

This is my first time using a Mac computer. I have the 27 inch iMac. I have the iphone 6 plus and the ipad 4. I thought having an iMac the photos between the iphone and mac would transfer easily but I'm having issues.

The first time I connected my iphone it recognized it and asked to trust this computer so I selected trust. Then it transferred some photos from it but not all. Now when I connect it iPhoto does not pick up the rest of the photos. What's up with that? It's making me start to hate Mac computer and wish I had stuck with alienware.

2. joema2 macrumors 65816

joema2

I don't use iPhoto, but here is the procedure for using the built-in Image Capture utility:

Connect your iPhone and on the Mac run the Image Capture utility if it doesn't automatically start. To run this just press CMD-space and type "image". It should be one if the first things that pops up.

ImageCapture will show all photos in the Camera Roll on your iPhone. You just select the ones you want, select the folder to place them, and press "import".

After they are imported, if you press the "red slash" button you can delete the photos from your iPhone.

You can then import to iPhoto and edit the photos from the folder you downloaded.

Once you have the edited or resized photos how you want them, these can be placed on your iPad this way:

(1) Resize photos on your Mac to about 1.5k or 2k pixels, else they will take up too much space. In iPhoto or Lightroom you can export at that size. For existing photos use a resize utility. For Mac use Photo Resize Pro: https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/photoresize-pro/id536956866?mt=12

(2) On Mac put your resized photos in a group of folders under one main folder. E.g, main folder: IPadPhotos. Sub-folders: Family, Vacations, Pets, etc. Each folder will become an album on the iPad.