First time macbook pro questions

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by mattrp, Dec 8, 2009.

1. mattrp macrumors newbie

Hello,

I'm thinking about purchasing a new laptop come January due to my current laptop's loud fan, hot temperatures, and low battery life (1 hour). I began my search with windows laptops, but it seemed that every laptop I researched had something wrong with it. When I read the reviews from my friends and professionals regarding the macbook pro, I was impressed. I was even more impressed about the almost 7 hours of battery life. Nonetheless, I am still a little hesitate about switching from a lifelong windows user to a mac, and thus have a few questions:

1) I'm currently a undergraduate finance/accounting student, so some of my classes require the use of a variety of accounting software. How compatible is Boot Camp with windows software and how easy is it to use?

2) As a student, I will use Microsoft Office quite often. I have heard mixed reviews about Office for mac. How different is it from Office for windows? I will basically need Excel, Word, and PowerPoint. Nothing too complex, just basic school projects and analysis.

3) How easy is it to implement Macs with Windows based networks. At Home, I have 5 windows computers hooked up to a wireless network. Is it just as easy to connect to a wireless network whether its mac or windows?

4) How long does the battery life really last on the macbook pro? It is advertised that it can last up to 7 hours, while most windows laptops that have 15 inch screens only last up to 2 to 3. Do mac really outperform windows on battery?

5) I will probably wait for the next updated macbook pro. Does anyone know what time that will be? I don't want to be waiting in Feb, but if it is released in the beginning/middle of january, I can wait until the beginning of next semester.

Thanks in advance!

2. Tiki35 macrumors 6502