Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

LorQ1027

macrumors regular
Original poster
Sep 18, 2014
San Francisco, CA
hello everyone!
This will be my first time preordering. I am planning on getting the 8+. From what I hear, I will have to put in the SIM card myself. My question is, is the SIM card easy to put in? I've never done this before. Thx for your help!

LQ

Shadowbech

macrumors G3
Oct 18, 2011
hello everyone!
This will be my first time preordering. I am planning on getting the 8+. From what I hear, I will have to put in the SIM card myself. My question is, is the SIM card easy to put in? I've never done this before. Thx for your help!

LQ
Question is what model are you ordering? In U.S if you are ordering a carrier specific model, you are required to enter your carrier account info and they ship you with the sim card inside.

Sim-Free model comes with the ejection tool kit (usually a small paperclip will do the job as well), you will need to have a nano sim card for it to work.

LorQ1027

macrumors regular
Original poster
Sep 18, 2014
San Francisco, CA
I am planning on buying the phone outright. I have the grandfather att plan and don't plan on switching. So if I just preorder the phone and buy the phone outright, will the sim be in the phone already?

pat500000

Suspended
Jun 3, 2015
I am planning on buying the phone outright. I have the grandfather att plan and don't plan on switching. So if I just preorder the phone and buy the phone outright, will the sim be in the phone already?
Sim-free version....make sure it's att/tmobil sim free version.

Reactions: Bee1776

Shadowbech

macrumors G3
Oct 18, 2011
If you buy the sim-free model, it will not come with the sim card. What sim card size to you have? Is it nano? Micro?
[doublepost=1505362166][/doublepost]
Sim-free version....make sure it's att/tmobil sim free version.