First Timer. Setting up New iMac

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by iono11200, Jul 21, 2014.

  1. iono11200 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2012
    #1
    This weekend I will be setting up my new iMac and Apple Time Capsule. I an planning on transferring my files from my Dell Inspiron 620 to my iMac using Migration Assistant. First question that I have is what kind of a cable will I need to connect my Dell PC to my new iMac so that I can Migrate my information? This is my first iMac so I'm new to all of this, although we do own iPads and iPhones. Any comments or suggestions on initial setup would be most appreciated.
     
  2. Altemose macrumors G3

    Altemose

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Location:
    Elkton, Maryland
    #2
    It can transfer over the network.
     
  3. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #3
    Just connect them directly to each other with an ethernet cable.
     
  4. AcesHigh87 macrumors 6502a

    AcesHigh87

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Location:
    New Brunswick, Canada
    #4
    This

    WiFi network will work as well but if you want the fastest transfer (and you will to get going with your new mac goodies) you'll want to transfer over ethernet. It's by far the easiest and fastest option.
     
  5. iono11200 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2012

Share This Page