first timers Bootcamp w/VM question

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by FortWorthMac, Nov 10, 2009.

  1. FortWorthMac macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2008
    Location:
    the parched earth of North Texas
    #1
    Hello all,

    Been a Mac convert now for about a year and haven't really looked back.

    So far the only thing keeping me from going straight Mac is Quicken. Hopefully this spring Intuit will get the latest Quicken for Mac right, but I digress.

    I am currently running VM3 to boot into Windows 7 in order to use Quicken, and a few other things from time to time. But............. this new Modern Warfare 2 game kinda has me thinking I might need to install Windows 7 via Boot Camp in order to give it a try.

    With that said, if I install W7 via BC I'm I able to access the data on my Mac partition, and with full read/write access? Furthermore, do I understand correctly that VM will then allow me to access my BC install from within it, thereby having the best of both?

    Thanks
    David
     
  2. r.j.s Moderator emeritus

    r.j.s

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Location:
    Texas
    #2
    Are you running Snow Leopard?

    In the past, you could not access your Mac partition from within BC, but I think that may have changed with SL.

    You are correct on the other part, Fusion will see the BC partition and treat it like a VM - so you can use it without restarting.
     
  3. FortWorthMac thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2008
    Location:
    the parched earth of North Texas
    #3
    I'm sorry I should have specified that in my original message. Yes I am running SL.

    Thanks
    David
     
  4. r.j.s Moderator emeritus

    r.j.s

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Location:
    Texas
    #4
    I did find that SL's BC will allow Windows to read OS X's files, but not write to the partition.
     
  5. FortWorthMac thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2008
    Location:
    the parched earth of North Texas
    #5
    Ok, thanks for checking. That's a setback but not a deal breaker.

    Ideally I would like to keep all my data files on a single partition for backup simplicity. But I'm sure I can find a work around.

    Thanks again,
    David
     
  6. JonnyBravo macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2007
    Location:
    Glendale, CA
    #6
    Hey FortWorth...I'm planning to doing the same thing (using the Windows version of Quicken) via Bootcamp or VMware.

    Question for you: which version of Quicken do you have? I'm currently on Quicken 2007 and wanted to know if its compatible with Windows 7. I would upgrade to 2010 but I wanted to wait to see what the MAC version would look like next year.

    I contacted Intuit and they said they only tested in 2009 and 2010 and that I can try it to see if it works or not? Don't have my iMac just yet to do that (its on order).
     
  7. mnpmac macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2009
    #7
    I am interested in this as well.
    I would like to what workarounds everyone is using to read/write data.
    Will having macfuse/ntfs3g be a solution?
     
  8. r.j.s Moderator emeritus

    r.j.s

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Location:
    Texas
    #8
    MacFUSE NTFS-3G will allow OS X to write to NTFS drives, but not the other way around.

    You can buy MacDrive for that.
     
  9. FortWorthMac thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2008
    Location:
    the parched earth of North Texas
    #9
    JonnyBravo,

    I'm some what of a Quicken junkie. I've updated every year with each new version. But I gotta admit, the folks at Intuit seem to be running out of ideas.

    So I can't advise if Q2007 will run in Windows 7, sorry.

    David
     

Share This Page