Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

HomeingPigeon

macrumors regular
Original poster
Aug 1, 2007
I took this 2 weeks ago. It is my first try at black and white. any cc welcome.

Attachments

• DSCN2131.jpg
    DSCN2131.jpg
    287.1 KB · Views: 133

Abstract

macrumors Penryn
Dec 27, 2002
Location Location Location
Not to totally hijack this thread, but with b&w photography, what kind of look should a photographer be aiming for? Do you aim for high contrast? Low contrast? If I shoot RAW, and I'm quickly editing in Lightroom, how do you know which of the 8 coloured greyscaled mixers to fiddle around with? In colour, I'm not completely dissatisfied with what I'm doing (although I don't know if others agree or not).

To me, it seems that many portraits are either very low contrast, or very high contrast with lots of shadows. Landscape shots usually appear low contrast to me, except for the very dark areas of the photo. I thought maybe the highlight end would have a longer "tail", while the darker regions didn't. Does this question/remark make sense?

HomeingPigeon

macrumors regular
Original poster
Aug 1, 2007
That made no sense at all. I dont know if I just dont understand it or if you are speeking greek. I cant tell. If you could translate that to english allitle that would be great.

thanks

Abstract

macrumors Penryn
Dec 27, 2002
Ah, that's a good website. Thanks :)

@HomeingPigeon: I don't understand where the confusion lies, so I don't really know how to make it more clear. I don't think your post was very clear, either.

If I had to re-word my question, I'd like to know whether the tone curves for b&w photography should be different than for what I do with colour? I'm sort of happy my general photography, but not with b&w. I don't know what a nice skin tone looks like in b&w, amongst other things.

seenew

macrumors 68000
Dec 1, 2005
Brooklyn