First Wedding Shoot....Camcorder or DSLR? Need Advice.

Discussion in 'Digital Video' started by MrMacMini, Oct 7, 2010.

1. MrMacMini macrumors regular

I will be shooting my first wedding this November for a friend. The problem? I just started learning so I'm a little nervous. The good news, she knows that I'm learning, so she's not expecting a Spielberg film.

So, I own 2 camera's. I have a Canon HV40 and a Canon T2i. I also have access to a good friends equipment which consist of a Panasonic AG-HMC150 LED lighting, and wireless mic and few other little extras.

1.What setup would you recommend I use? (Id rather stay away from my friends equipment because that's a lot of responsibility.)
    2.What equipment is essential for a wedding shoot?
    3.What equipment should I buy for the shoot?

I have some time to prepare and buy things I need, and I'm also willing to rent anything I cant afford. So please help!

2. Consultant macrumors G5

Consultant

I suggest you look at some books.

Have you done any editing at all?

3. Hitrate macrumors regular

Hitrate

Set up the t2i on a tripod in wideshots and then move around with the other camera. Unless you got a viewfinder and good stabilizing equipment and some practice, the t2i is gonna make a lot of shots out of focus and shaky. Since it's the only good camera I own, I've actually postponed doing wedding video's until I get the final equipment, and some more projects under my belt. I don't wanna screw up someone's wedding video! So especially for an important event like that, make it simple on yourself! Meantime, do searches on vimeo, youtube, google etc. and do your own research.

4. MrMacMini thread starter macrumors regular

Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_0_1 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/532.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/4.0.5 Mobile/8A306 Safari/6531.22.7)

Yes, but it's usually my own projects. Never done anything for someone else. I use FCS3 for editing...