Fitment Issues with 1080p

Discussion in 'Mac mini' started by skrypj, Jan 28, 2011.

  1. skrypj macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2011
    #1
    As of last night i and the proud owner of a new Mac Mini Server. I hooked it straight up to my 1080p Sharp Tv via HDMI. I set it to 1080p and the output was stretched so that the upper bar(task bar?) and the right side were off the screen. THe bottom and left side were lined up correctly. switched to 1080i and the fitment was fine but there was a slight flicker. Went to 720p and it was the same issue as with 1080p but everythign was bigger. I finally settled on 1360x768 which worked fine.

    I know my tv can only adjust horizontal and vertical positioning so i cant shrink the display with the tv. Is there a way to do this in OSX?

    Thanks!
     
  2. SilentPanda Moderator emeritus

    SilentPanda

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2002
    Location:
    The Bamboo Forest
    #2
    I had a similar issue with my mini on my TV. The issue is called "overscan". The only app I use on the mini is Plex which allows for correction of overscan within that app. But I believe SwitchResX might be the program you need... searching around for Mac mini and overscan should put you on the right path.
     
  3. skrypj thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2011
    #3
    So is this a problem with the TV or the Mini?
     
  4. SilentPanda Moderator emeritus

    SilentPanda

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2002
    Location:
    The Bamboo Forest
    #4
    It's not really a problem with either.... it's just how they are supposed to work. Since you can't install something on your TV to fix it, the Mini is the place to fix it.
     
  5. mchalebk macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2008
    #5
    Actually, this can be fixed on most modern TVs. They usually have modes that can display the whole image with no overscan (I think Sharp calls the mode Dot by Dot).
     
  6. skrypj thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2011
    #6
    OH! good call on that, that never even crossed my mind.
     
  7. ThinIce macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2010
    #7
    If your TV has an orbiter setting turn it off. I had a problem with the menu bar not lining up on the top of the screen until I turned the orbiter off. Lines up perfectly now.
     

Share This Page