Fitting Graphics card

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Washac, Dec 30, 2009.

  1. Washac macrumors 68020

    Washac

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2006
    #1
    Hi


    How hard is it to fit a new graphics card into my Mac Pro ?

    I have ordered an ATI Radeon HD 4870


    Thanks....
     
  2. Transporteur macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #2
    It's dead easy.

    Best thing you can do is to read the manual, which you can find on you Mac Pros hard disc. The manual is called Mac Pro users guide.

    Just make sure that you fit the 4870 in the first bay and the GT120 in the second or third.
     
  3. Washac thread starter macrumors 68020

    Washac

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2006
    #3
    Thanks :)
     
  4. akadmon macrumors 68010

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Location:
    New England
    #4
    As easy as it is, you need to be careful about not to jostle your MP around too much. I unseated one of my RAM sticks during the installation, which made for some anxious monuments (MP would not boot). I suggest removing your memory risers first. This will give you more room to work, and you can reseat the RAM sticks before putting the risers back in just to make sure there are no nasty surprises.
     
  5. Washac thread starter macrumors 68020

    Washac

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2006
    #5
    Thanks for the advice :)
     
  6. Genghis Khan macrumors 65816

    Genghis Khan

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    #6
    Again, easy as...everything slips in and out as it says in the manual

    2 things to watch out for though...
    1) make sure you have a sharp screwdriver for removing the pci bracket...if you scratch the screw up, it can make it more difficult
    2) removing and inserting pci cards needs a good pull/push...don't be afraid of being carefully forceful
     
  7. Transporteur macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #7
    I assume that the OP has a '09 model.
    This model doesn't have any memory risers. The memory is placed on the CPU daugtherboard and there is no need to remove this board when replacing PCI cards.

    It's really just pulling out the old card and popping in the new one. That's it.
     
  8. Washac thread starter macrumors 68020

    Washac

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2006
    #8
    Hi All


    Thanks for the tips people....

    Job done all fitted and working :)
     

Share This Page