Five Colours Memory Re-Set, Re-Boot Problems

Discussion in 'iMac' started by Cerus, Oct 22, 2010.

  1. Cerus macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2010
    Location:
    Springwood, NSW, Australia
    #1
    Hi Fellow Ancient iMac Users,

    Please can someone let me know how to fix the following error:

    As I was working on 50MB images in Photoshop5.5 on my old iMac Five Colours, and I was having to save after every command, I (rather stupidly:eek:) tried to change my Available Memory to the maximum of around 17000.

    The poor dear decided to promptly shutdown. I restarted, as this seems to fix 90% of old iMac problems.

    As it was opening the desktop and only two windows, it came up with this warning:

    "There is not enough memory to complete this command. Please try closing some opened windows or restarting computer. Closing open windows might increase available memory." There were two buttons: 'Restart' and 'Retry'.

    I tried clicking on both, to no avail:(

    I have also tried to telephone my Mac Guru friend, stage name "Blue Nexus", but he has other plans, just like Despicable Chang in Dr Who!

    I would greatly appreaciate any constructive ideas! I need to get started on the work for a friend on Photoshop tomorrow...

    Thank you.:apple:

    Patrick - Cerus
     
  2. TMRaven macrumors 68020

    TMRaven

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    #2
    How much memory does your HDD have free? Does disk utility show your HDD to be working properly?
     
  3. Nermal Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #3
    It's been a while since I've used the old OS, but I believe if you boot while holding Shift, you'll be able to reset the memory setting back to normal.
     
  4. Cerus thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2010
    Location:
    Springwood, NSW, Australia
    #4
    Thank you Nermal!

    Thank you Nermal!!

    You have saved my bacon!:)

    If you would like a free copy of my 16 page booklet of poetry, please email me a post office box address to cerus@live.com.au...

    I am forever greatful!

    Patrick
     
  5. Cerus thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2010
    Location:
    Springwood, NSW, Australia
    #5
    To TMRaven

    How much memory does my HDD have?

    I thought about your question and have decided to fill you in on the following details:

    This is what my memory control panel says:

    Defult is ON and set at 5472K

    Virtual Memory is ON: Available for use on disk: 486K
    Available built in: 171M
    After restart (Maximum): 486M

    RAM Disk

    ON - Greyed out!*

    OF - Greyed out!*

    Save contents to disk on Restart and shutdown is TICKED.

    RAM disk size: 20736K
    (Aprox. 10% of RAM capacity)

    When I try to open Photoshop 5.5, the following Disk Error appears:

    Cannot open this application due to disk error 2

    I checked the Photoshop 5.5 Memory Info.

    The suggested size: 23637K
    minimum size: 23637K
    Preferred size: 23637K

    Thanks for your assistance TMRaven!

    Patrick
     
  6. Cerus thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2010
    Location:
    Springwood, NSW, Australia

Share This Page