Fix a 3gs on 3.1.2 without upgrade to 3.1.3

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by tmatthews14, Mar 1, 2010.

  1. tmatthews14 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2010
    Location:
    Utah
    #1
    So I know somone who was jailbroken and unlocked on 3.1.2, but he did a reset all settings and content, and it put in him a reboot loop, so the phone wont start. So, I'm trying to find out if there is anyway to restore the iphone to 3.1.2, without losing the unlock. His SHSH are saved on cydia.

    I am with AT&T so when I upgraded to 3.1.3, and downgraded to 3.1.2 I didnt need an unlock. So I think the process would be different, right?

    Or is it as easy as doing a shift+restore through iTunes with the modded Hosts file? Or will that mess with any of the unlock?
     
  2. thelatinist macrumors 603

    thelatinist

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2009
    Location:
    Connecticut, USA
    #2
    As long as he doesn't upgrade to the official 3.1.3 first, he can do a shift-restore to 3.1.2 an not lose the ability to unlock.
     
  3. ^Monster^ macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    #3
    I've done the same thing on my iphone 3gs with firmware 3.1.2. I have it jailbroken and unlocked up I unfortunately got it stuck on the "itune and use cable" image. I tried the shift restore and when itunes finishes doing this it give me an " An unknown error occurred 1604" and doesn't complete. I've tried deleting the library.itl file, and reinstalling an older version of itunes also, but nothing is working. I also gives me the message that itunes has detected an iphone in recovery mode and must connect to the server to detect the iphone. I find this may be the issue, but I cannot get it to go away nor skip it. My iphone isn't working even though I was able to do a restore before with no problem. Have any other ideas?
     
  4. zack001 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    #4
    Same problem as Monster

    Hi everyone. I'm having the same problem as Monster. Did a reset all and now the phone is stuck in an endless loop of 'iPhone in recovery' use Blackra1n and then a frozen picture of Geohot (the spinning wheel doesn't spin) and then back to plug into iTunes. Also getting a '1604' error. Can anyone help?

    thanks
     
  5. dhlizard macrumors G4

    dhlizard

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Location:
    The Jailbreak Community
    #5
    Why are you all using these "reset" switches ?

    Especially without bothering to find out first they will cripple your phone !

    Don't mean to be harsh but to me it is on a par with running your car into a block wall to see if you can do so without incurring any damage :rolleyes:
     
  6. zack001 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    #6
    When you're right you're right. Had no idea that the reset would mess things up. Also in all my research I never read anything about the evils of reset. Is that it for me and Blackra1n?
     
  7. dhlizard macrumors G4

    dhlizard

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Location:
    The Jailbreak Community
    #7
    Do you have 3GS, have you been previously jailbroken, did you save your SHSH blobs, have you modified your hosts file ? Can you get into recovery mode ?
     
  8. zack001 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    #8
    3GS (new baseband), jailbroken, saved SHSH with Cydia, unlocked with Snow. Have NOT restored to 3.1.3. Have modified host file with '74.208.10.249 gs.apple.com" and I can get into recovery mode.
     
  9. zack001 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    #9
    Some additional info - Tried to restore to 3.1.2 firmware - got a message back saying that the phone is not authorized for that firmware.
     
  10. vjal79 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2010
    #10
    I am in a similar situation.
    So guys you are not alone!

    It seems we have to wait until 3.1.3 jailbreak for new bootrom comes alive. Then we can upgrade our phones to a new firmware and make it rain... :(
     
  11. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #11
    DO NOT DO a reset all settings on a 3GS if you dont have your SHSH's saved thru cydia.
    You will only be able to restore to the latest Apple firmware.
     
  12. dhlizard macrumors G4

    dhlizard

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Location:
    The Jailbreak Community
    #12
    If you saved the 3.1.2 version of SHSH, this should work for you --> http://www.saurik.com/id/12
     
  13. zack001 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    #13
    Thanks for taking the time to reply. I already tried the restore in the link. Didn't work for me. I'm just going to wait for wait for either an exploit in 3.1.3 or maybe even 4. In the meantime I'm going to try to get O2 to unlock the phone. Thanks once again for trying to help.
     
  14. dhlizard macrumors G4

    dhlizard

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Location:
    The Jailbreak Community
    #14
    If it's an AT&T phone, o2 isn't gonna unlock it.
     
  15. zack001 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    #15
    Its an 02 phone bought in the UK. Apparently, they will unlock after 3 months use and for an additional $30. Thing is I live in South Africa so am not going to use it.
     

Share This Page