FLAC files seen by Audacity as OGG file?

Discussion in 'Digital Audio' started by jazzer15, Mar 12, 2011.

1. jazzer15 macrumors 6502

I am fairly new to Macs. Today I downloaded XLD. I ripped a CD to FLAC and although each of the track files has an FLAC extension, the icon for the files indicates that it is an OGG file and that Audacity is the default program to open it. When I click on the file and it launches Audacity, I get an awful sound -- probably because it is trying to read the FLAC file as an Ogg Vorbis file. If I open the file with VLC, all is fine.

A couple of questions. First, does anyone know why Audacity was chosen as the default program and why it sees it as an OGG file?
    And second, how can the default program for opening a file be changed?

Thanks.

2. MacUser2525 macrumors 68000

MacUser2525

You want to open the preferences then with your Flac setting selected use the Option to un-check the Set OggS filetype and perhaps OggFLAC as well. This option allows you to use Fluke to play the Flac files in iTunes which unless you like it crashing all the time I don't recommend. The default option to open can be changed by right clicking in Finder using the Get Info on a single file then change the Open With at the bottom.

3. jazzer15 thread starter macrumors 6502

Thanks for the reply. I changed the default option to VLC, which solved my issue. However, I didn't quite follow the first part of your reply about opening preferences and "with the Flac setting selected use the option ... " It probably doesn't matter because I don't plan to play the Flac files in iTunes anyway, but I am curious. In what program were you suggesting I open preferences and what exactly did you mean by "with the Flac setting selected"?

Thanks again for the help.

4. MacUser2525 macrumors 68000

MacUser2525