Flash content not loading in any browser

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by wastedminutes, Apr 26, 2010.

  1. wastedminutes macrumors newbie

    wastedminutes

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Location:
    Cumbria, England
    #1
    My new Macbook Pro 15" has stopped loading flash content. (it played it just fine about 2 days ago) I can get onto Youtube etc, but the videos themselves get stuck on the circular dots loading image.

    I figured it might be a problem with one of my Firefox add-ons, so I disabled them all, to no avail. Then I tried Safari, and it won't work in safari either, or chrome or opera.

    I tried installing Flash player, but when I click the download link, nothing happens. I tried multiple mirrors, but none of the links download anything.

    I'm at my wits end. Please help!
     
  2. spinnerlys Guest

    spinnerlys

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Location:
    forlod bygningen
    #2
    Have you reset your browser(s) yet? What kind of internet connection do you have? Does Flash work with other computers in your home?
     
  3. C64 macrumors 65816

    C64

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2008
  4. wastedminutes thread starter macrumors newbie

    wastedminutes

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Location:
    Cumbria, England
    #4
    Flash content loads on my PC desktop, using the same (wireless broadband) internet connection which is reasonably fast. What do you mean by 'resetting' the browser? I've rebooted the Macbook, with no luck.

    I wonder why flash player won't even download (in any browser)?
     
  5. spinnerlys Guest

    spinnerlys

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Location:
    forlod bygningen
    #5
    Use the HELP menu to find the reset options of your browsers.
    [​IMG]

    How is your network setup and what settings does the Mac use?


    Can you view flash content on the following site? http://www.avid.com/US/
     
  6. wastedminutes thread starter macrumors newbie

    wastedminutes

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Location:
    Cumbria, England
    #6
    I clicked the help menu and typed 'reset browser'... You might need to guide me a bit further towards resetting, I'm fairly new to OS X :rolleyes:

    My network is a single router connected wirelessly to a Time Capsule, a desktop PC (which is usually turned off) and my macbook.

    The link you gave me has been 'loading' in a tab in firefox for a good 10 mins, but nothing's loaded.
     
  7. wastedminutes thread starter macrumors newbie

    wastedminutes

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Location:
    Cumbria, England
    #7
    hold on, I think the problem might be YouTube.. Vimeo works!
     
  8. spinnerlys Guest

    spinnerlys

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Location:
    forlod bygningen
    #8
    You can try the HTML5 beta for YouTube or ClickToFlash to watch YouTube videos via QuickTime.

    Also regarding the help menu, entering 'reset' might suffice, as the browser knows its a browser, you just have to have the browser active. Most probably it under the Menu with the browser name bolded.


    [​IMG]
    [​IMG] [​IMG][​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG][​IMG]
    [​IMG][​IMG]
    [​IMG][​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     

Share This Page