Flash CS3 & AS3. What's the best way to learn?

Discussion in 'Web Design and Development' started by Poogis, Dec 9, 2008.

1. Poogis macrumors member

Hello all.

I'm trying to get familiar with Flash CS3 and ActionScript 3 but I seem to be struggling a bit.

I am using Lynda.com for the various Flash CS3 tutorials plus the Actionscript 3 Essential Training but just don't seem to be able to bring it all together. I'm a graphic designer that uses Photoshop, Illustrator, InDesign (and Dreamweaver occasionally) which I have no problems with. However, Flash CS3 plus Actionscript 3 equals one major headache. It seems you have to be a maths whizz for Actionscript.

I was wondering if anybody had a method of picking it all up or, even better, could anyone recommend an official Adobe approved course (I'm in the UK).

I'd appreciate any advice on any books or self-paced courses.

Many thanks in advance.

Damian.

2. snickelfritz macrumors 65816

snickelfritz

The book "Learning ActionScript 3.0" by Oreilly, is required reading for Flash CS3.
    Here's a link to the companion site:
    http://www.learningactionscript3.com/

Complete the tutorials at the following site: http://www.gotoandlearn.com/
    These are among the best free AS3 tutorials out there.

Download Lee Brimelow's "snippets panel".
    This allows you to store/access frequently used actionscripts and saves a lot of time and effort, especially while you are learning AS3.
    http://theflashblog.com/?p=336

Learn how to use TweenGroup/Tweenmax/TweenLite immediately.
    These are excellent tweening classes commonly used to programatically animate objects.
    Start with some basic experiments and save them for future reference.
    Download the AS3 version of TweenGroup; it includes several useful utilities, TweenLite, TweenMax, and TweenGroup.
    http://blog.greensock.com/tweengroup/

Attached is a basic frame navigation FLA for you to examine.