Flash CS4, Having issues when i import video

Discussion in 'Web Design and Development' started by X1Lightning, Mar 18, 2009.

  1. X1Lightning macrumors 6502

    X1Lightning

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    #1
    i'm running flash CS4 on my mac, and running flash CS3 on my old windows machine, now i can do exactly what i want in CS3, but i cant in CS4.

    When i am importing my video in CS4 to the SWF to have it embedded, it pulls it in and makes it very grainy and adds black bars to the sides.

    when i do the same thing in CS3 it works great, and no bars and stays crisp.

    is this a bug in cs4? or do you have to change the way you do things in CS4?

    kinda sucks having to flip between machines to get things done....
     
  2. SrWebDeveloper macrumors 68000

    SrWebDeveloper

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2007
    Location:
    Alexandria, VA, USA
    #2
    Before calling this a bug, what video format are you importing and did you use the Flash CS4 Video Import Wizard?
     
  3. pelsar macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2008
    Location:
    israel
    #3
    to check....

    the importing info of flash "remembers" that last specs you used..it could be that in the CS3 and CS4 your have different specs (crop size, data rate, etc)
     
  4. X1Lightning thread starter macrumors 6502

    X1Lightning

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    #4
    well i started out with .mov
    in cs3 i just tell flash to import it directly to the stage, and embed it in the swf file. works great.

    in cs4 i convert the .mov to .flv using the media converter tool when that was done i looked at the .flv and it looked just as good as the .mov so then i went into flash and told it to import it and embed it into the swf. well then it adds the black bars and looks bad.

    Both ways i am setting it to 700 kb for quality, so i don't know why cs4 looks so bad.
     
  5. X1Lightning thread starter macrumors 6502

    X1Lightning

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    #5
    I made sure i set them both to the same, and i still get poor results in cs4, everything else in flash cs4 seems to work right, just pulling the videos in looks like trash....
     
  6. SrWebDeveloper macrumors 68000

    SrWebDeveloper

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2007
    Location:
    Alexandria, VA, USA
    #6
    Well, your original question where you said, "when i do the same thing" is misleading as you're converting for import to cs4. Maybe it won't make a difference, but to see if the cause stems from the .flv or the conversion, simply import the .mov into cs4 as a test just to see if the problem can be isolated outside cs4.

    I follow what you're saying about the .flv looking fine prior to import, but I have to ask which utility are using to do the mov -> flv conversion? Beyond all this, I don't really know.

    -jim
     
  7. pelsar macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2008
    Location:
    israel
    #7
    an experiment.....the first step


    after you've made the flv on the mac by exporting from quicktime...play that very flv on quicktime.....see what you get
     
  8. X1Lightning thread starter macrumors 6502

    X1Lightning

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    #8

    well as far as i can find, CS4 does not allow import of anything other than flv or f4v video. you have to run anything else thru their media encoder tool that comes with flash which runs as a separate app.

    I used the adobe media encoder tool to convert from .mov to .flv and the CS4 player to test the video to make sure it looked good.
    i thought for sure it had to be the encoder but it works fine.
     
  9. pelsar macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2008
    Location:
    israel
    #9
    send me the flv......

    you can send the file to me and i'll see what i get. what size is the file (width/ht)

    steve.s@spinnerdesign.co.il
     

Share This Page