Flash CS4 Help..:[

Discussion in 'Design and Graphics' started by krewelement394, Jan 15, 2009.

  1. krewelement394 macrumors regular

    krewelement394

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2008
    #1
    hmm remember back when apple offered cs3 with a brand new macbook? well i bought that package! then i heard from my teacher that adobe would upgrade you to cs4 for free if you bought cs3 between 1 point and another. anywho i upgraded it. this is what i need help with! i am new to flash i didn't even touch cs3 (flash) but now i am forcing myself to learn flash just because i love animating but i am having difficulties such as:

    creating symbols and keeping them in my library for future use...!
    it would really help to learn how to do that b.c i made an animation the other day and then yesterday i wanted to make a continue of the first one, but i got more frustrated re-doing all the drawings and animating them from scratch i know that you can save them and keep them in the library for furtre use but i don't know how!!! so how? does anyone have a link to a tutorial? i am trying to search but i cannot find a correct one perhaps i am searching wrong..!? but i do not know what to search! help!

    thanks....
    :]:apple:
     
  2. Str8edgepunker macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2001
    Location:
    Philadelphia, PA
    #2
    Well, all you have to do is select the item in the scene and then go to the Modify Menu and then Convert to Symbol. You can also right click on it to get to the same option. Then you just choose what kind of symbol it is and then go from there. :D
     
  3. krewelement394 thread starter macrumors regular

    krewelement394

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2008
    #3
    i do that but it will not show up on the library after i close the file! i do save the file though
     
  4. mcavjame macrumors 65816

    mcavjame

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2008
    Location:
    phased to this universe
    #4
    Start a new scene in an existing file or, start a new file with the previous file open and drag objects between libraries.
     
  5. krewelement394 thread starter macrumors regular

    krewelement394

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2008
    #5
    uhhmm i still very confused! im new with flash.... soo i can't keep them in the library forever? i have to have the original file where i had that animation object....?
     
  6. mcavjame macrumors 65816

    mcavjame

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2008
    Location:
    phased to this universe
    #6
    Your library is not like the common library where your button objects reside. But it's not as hard as you are making it sound. Any file you have created in the past is easily accessible. You might even create themed files for certain characters, settings or scenes that are used often.

    The second file does not have to be opened, but you do have to access the library (import):
    File > Import > Open External Library

    If you have material well organized on your computer, this is no less convenient than going:
    Window>Common Library>Library I Need to access
     
  7. krewelement394 thread starter macrumors regular

    krewelement394

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2008
    #7

    so by doing this, i can import the animations i have done in the past...?:]
     
  8. Scooby_Doo macrumors member

    Scooby_Doo

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Location:
    Chicago
    #8
    This is not meant to be insulting but have you looked at the Adobe live docs? This is a foundation of building interactivity and animation in Flash, I think they go over it pretty well. If you want to get more specific with a kind of technique, that's when a forum/how to site might be more handy.
     
  9. krewelement394 thread starter macrumors regular

    krewelement394

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2008
    #9
    thanks uhmm but i already know how to create a symbol... i need help using it when ever i want with out having the file open..
     
  10. mcavjame macrumors 65816

    mcavjame

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2008
    Location:
    phased to this universe
    #10
    Yep.
     
  11. krewelement394 thread starter macrumors regular

    krewelement394

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2008
    #11
    hey i just tried this but it doesnt work...!
     

Share This Page