Flash MBP GPU

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by rabidz7, May 15, 2013.

  1. rabidz7 macrumors 65816

    rabidz7

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2012
    Location:
    Ohio
  2. johnnnw macrumors 65816

    johnnnw

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2013
  3. Bear macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    Location:
    Sol III - Terra
    #3
    The question is why? Your 6770M in the MBP already has a bios for Macs.
     
  4. Idarzoid macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2013
    #4
    Looks like he's trying to flash a FirePro M5950 bios to 6770m.

    M5950 and 6770m are the same so you're not going to see any gain, if not much, by flashing, unless you're running software that functions better with FirePro/Quadro cards.
     
  5. rabidz7 thread starter macrumors 65816

    rabidz7

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2012
    Location:
    Ohio
    #5

    I want to lower voltage and increase clocks.
     
  6. Asuriyan macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2013
    Location:
    Indiana
    #6
    Maybe I'm being pessimistic, but this sounds like a great way to turn your computer into a paperweight.
     
  7. Idarzoid macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2013
    #7
    I'm not sure how graphics switching works on OS X, but if it's anything like on Windows, it'll just use the integrated graphics.
     
  8. Mr MM macrumors 65816

    Mr MM

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2011
    #8
    you are going to blind flash a vbios that is not supposed to work on macs, in a non mxm gpu

    pal its a sure way of having a very heavy paperweight

    get someone that knows how to modify vbios and ask if it can do something for you, svl7 from notebookreview and techinferno is a very trusted guy, however I dont know if he ever did any work on macs
     
  9. blackburn macrumors 6502a

    blackburn

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    Location:
    Where Judas lost it's boots.
    #9
    Most likely the vbios is not on a separate chip. Most laptops have the vbios inside the main bios/efi.
    If that's the case you will need to hack Apple's firmware to change the vbios, and you still need to get the efi part of the bios.
     
  10. leman macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    #10
    Most likely just nothing will happen, as the flashing application won't be able to do its job. But if its does, I am quite sure you will have a fried computer - Apple computers use their own customised firmware.
     

Share This Page