Flash not working on browsers

Discussion in 'macOS' started by hatcher146, Jan 3, 2009.

  1. hatcher146 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2007
    Location:
    north carolina
    #1
    I didn't know where else to put this thread.. sorry if its in the wrong forum.

    Flash macromedia player isn't working on my browsers. I go to adobe's website and I download the player and it says successfully installed but when I go to some websites that need macromedia flash player it doesn't work.

    Anyone can help me with this problem?

    Would really appreciate it.

    Thanks.
     
  2. Slowstick macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2008
    #2
    Do you have it enabled, an do you have a firewall?
     
  3. hatcher146 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2007
    Location:
    north carolina
    #3
    How do I know if it is enabled or not?

    And no I do not believe I have a firewall.
     
  4. Slowstick macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2008
    #4
    Which browser are you using? In Firefox go to tools and then add ons and make sure Flash is enabled. Are you on a Mac or PC?
     
  5. hatcher146 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2007
    Location:
    north carolina
    #5
    I am on a mac.

    I went to firefox and flash did not show up in the "add-on" section.

    I went to safari and it said it was enabled?
     
  6. Slowstick macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2008
    #6
    In Firefox it is under plugins. Try removing the plugins and reinstalling flash.

    Let me know if that works!
     
  7. hatcher146 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2007
    Location:
    north carolina
    #7
    Where do you find the plug ins on firefox? I can't seem to find it.
     
  8. Slowstick macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2008
    #8
    Go to Tools- add ons and it should be under "plug-ins."
     
  9. hatcher146 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2007
    Location:
    north carolina
    #9
    I do not have any plug-ins under add ons. Only extensions and themes.
     
  10. Slowstick macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2008
    #10
    Under Tool, there should be an add-ons option. Select that. In the window that pops up select "Plugins" and see if adobe flash is there and enables.

    Btw, are you trying to install the older shockwave player or adobe flash?
     
  11. hatcher146 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2007
    Location:
    north carolina
    #11
    I do select add-ons. When the window pops up the only two options are extensions and themes. There isn't a tab for plugins.

    And I am trying to install adobe flash.
     
  12. Slowstick macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2008
    #12
    Hmmm...try deleting your browser and then installing it again.
     
  13. hatcher146 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2007
    Location:
    north carolina
    #13
    I deleted my browser and installed the flash player again. It does not show up in the plug in section of the browser.

    Where do I go from here?
     
  14. Slowstick macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2008
    #14
    This is very strange. What i don't get is the fact there is not a plug-ins tab under add ons. There should be. Check again.
     
  15. hatcher146 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2007
    Location:
    north carolina
    #15
    I re-installed the browser and the plug in tab IS there. But under it there is no macromedia flash player which I also reinstalled.
     
  16. Slowstick macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2008
    #16
    Try saving the .zip adobe flash install file to your HD, unzip the contents, and install it from there. Make sure you completely close out of all browsers.

    I have a good feeling about this! Good luck!:D
     
  17. hatcher146 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2007
    Location:
    north carolina
    #17
    Yeah, this is what I have been doing. Isn't working. Wow, this is pretty annoying. I really appreciate your help though.
     
  18. Slowstick macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2008
    #18
    No problem. I wish i could help. I am running out of options. Try opera and see if that works. If it doesn't, i have other ideas.
     
  19. hatcher146 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2007
    Location:
    north carolina
    #19
    That did not work either. Macromedia player still was not installed.
     
  20. Slowstick macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2008
    #20
    Well this ain't a problem with your browser or flash player. Check your firewall.

    And when you say Macromedia.....do you mean Adobe Flash? Where are you downloading this? Whats the link?
     
  21. mg5904 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2008
    #21
    Recycling

    Resurrected this post so as not to waste electrons. I also installed Adobe Flash Player (I think), but when I view sites requiring Macromedia Flash Firefox or Safari, I am unable to view the content.

    I have checked Tools>add-ons>plugins, and Shockwave Flash is shown as enabled.

    I just switched from a pc to a Mac and am running Firefox 3.0.5 on a brand-spankin' new MacBook - which I love - with OS X 10.5.6.

    I downloaded the Flash Player 10; opened/unzipped that up to reveal the Adobe Flash Player package; I dragged that into Applications and subsequently clicked on it while in Applications, and followed the install instructions. The install wizard informed me at the end that the installation was successful.

    I must have messed something up along the way, I am sure.

    Edit: Scooting over to the Adobe website reveals that I have version 10,0,12,36 successfully installed.
     

Share This Page