Flash PCI nVIDIA GeForce FX5500

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by MatthewLTL, Feb 21, 2015.

  1. MatthewLTL macrumors 68000

    MatthewLTL

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2015
    Location:
    Rochester, MN
    #1
    I plan to upgrade the GPU in a Windows Computer I have (like the G3 B&W It's PCI Only)

    The current GPU In it is a nVIDIA GeForce FX 5500. Bought it YEARS ago to upgrade a previous PCI-Only desktop. Since I will be getting a better GPU for this computer, I wanted to flash this 5500 to work on my MDD. What kind of Mac ROM would I use?

    The GPU I'll be upgrading to is a JATON Video-339PCI-HLX Radeon HD 5450 512MB 64-Bit DDR3 PCI HDCP Video Card.

    How does this compare to the 5500 or a PCI 6200?

    If it matters any, This computer is a stock HP Pavillion a824n. It also has a SoundBlaster Audigy SE (Probably not needed but I have 3 of them so I figured I might as well use one of 'em).
     
  2. harrymatic macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2013
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #2
    You'll be wanting to use the FX5200 ROM (which should also work for the FX5500). The Mac Elite has 3 different versions for download, depending on the memory size / bus width of the card.

    I've never used the Radeon HD 5450 you mention, but I imagine that it would perform significantly faster than the GeForce 5500 as it is a much more modern GPU. Of course, it is still limited by the PCI bus.
     
  3. weckart macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2004
    #3
    I have the 5450 PCIe in one of my Microservers. It is, along with the 6450, about the best fanless card you can squeeze in without overloading the 25W slot limit. Fine for modest gaming and will handle HD video. It is slightly better in that respect than the similar GT210, which itself is comparable to the 320M you get in older Macbook Airs and Mac Minis.

    With the additional restriction of the PCI bus on yours just don't expect fireworks.
     
  4. MatthewLTL thread starter macrumors 68000

    MatthewLTL

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2015
    Location:
    Rochester, MN
    #4
    I am not expecting it to be like a AGP or PCIe. Basically all i want to know is if itll play Flash Video and basic games (BigFish, PopCap kind of games) Without lag the 5500 has.
     
  5. MagicBoy macrumors 68040

    MagicBoy

    Joined:
    May 28, 2006
    Location:
    Manchester, UK
  6. MatthewLTL thread starter macrumors 68000

    MatthewLTL

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2015
    Location:
    Rochester, MN
    #6
    Probably the fact its running 2GB RAM with 'Shitdows" 8.1 will maxing the RAM out at 4GB so anything in that regard?
     
  7. weckart macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2004
    #7
    Flash decoding is pretty much CPU based. H.264 etc can be offloaded to the GPU but with Flash all the rendering and scaling etc is shoved onto the CPU.
     
  8. MatthewLTL thread starter macrumors 68000

    MatthewLTL

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2015
    Location:
    Rochester, MN
    #8
    It has a Socket 775 Intel Pentium 4 @3.0GHz its a 32 bit CPU (must be one of the 1st P4s for Socket 775 because the computer takes DDR RAM
     

Share This Page