Flash Player and Mountain Lion

Discussion in 'OS X Mountain Lion (10.8)' started by andy8, Jun 22, 2012.

  1. andy8 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2009
    #1
    I'm curious to know how Flash Player fares on ML ?
    I have Flash installed now (on Lion) mainly for YouTube videos on Safari.

    Flash is known for having memory issues and Safari crashes, thus
    is it advisable to have flash player installed on M.Lion or not ?
    I haven't tested M.Lion yet but maybe some developers who has
    tested could provide some helpful answers.
     
  2. MikhailT macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2007
    #2
    That's up to Adobe, not Apple. ML doesn't change anything in that area. Adobe has to update Flash to be more stable.
     
  3. MisterMe macrumors G4

    MisterMe

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2002
    Location:
    USA
  4. TheGdog macrumors 6502

    TheGdog

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Location:
    North Carolina, USA
    #4
    Yea, Flash has always been a thorn in my side. Just leave a browser window open with some flash content going, and see how much memory it uses in activity monitor:eek:

    But like the above post says, a new OS is not going to change bad code!
     
  5. Bigyella macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2009
    Location:
    Texas
    #5
    How do you do that? :confused:
     
  6. RRmalvado macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 27, 2010
    #6
  7. andy8 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2009
    #7
    Thanks done !
     
  8. andy8 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2009
    #9
  9. Sylon macrumors 68020

    Sylon

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2012
    Location:
    Michigan/Ohio, USA
    #10

    I just clicked that link because I haven't heard of this trial before. And at the bottom it said I'm already joined it. Very weird, lol.
     
  10. andy8, Jun 23, 2012
    Last edited: Jun 23, 2012

    andy8 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2009
    #11
    I installed Youtube5 Extension and came across a site with the following issue on Safari :

    [​IMG]

    Any suggestions ? Once I click the "Please click here" link it launches the Adobe Flash site.
    I also found out a couple of other sites with the same problem and require the installation
    of Flash plugin. I was thinking of getting rid of Flash but looks like I'll have to install it again or
    enable the trial of HTML5.
     
  11. Mal macrumors 603

    Mal

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2002
    Location:
    Orlando
    #12
    The Youtube5 extension only works on…wait for it…Youtube. Other sites may not provide HTML5 versions of their content, so for those, you may need Flash if you want to view the content. I recommend using Chrome for that. I have been using it as my default browser, but many people have it downloaded only for when they want to view Flash content, because it has an integrated Flash plugin, which means you can view Flash content in Chrome even without the plugin installed for Safari/Firefox/etc. When you come across one of those sites, you can just open Chrome and view it there, but continue using Safari and remaining completely Flash-free in the meantime.

    jW
     
  12. andy8, Jun 23, 2012
    Last edited: Jun 23, 2012

    andy8 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2009
    #13
    Thanks for the extensive answer. Appreciate it.
    I used to launch sites with Flash content on Chrome
    whenever necessary using Alfred.
    But, of course I would like to have a solution without having to
    use two separate browsers. But maybe I'll have to just continue
    the old method for now at least.
     
  13. Asmod4n macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2011
    #14
    For most Sites you can also fake a iPad User Agent right within Safari on your Mac, it is under the "Develop" Menu Item which can be enabled in Preferences. But yeah, get Chrome as a Flash Player for those Sites where that doesn't work.
     
  14. killmoms macrumors 68040

    killmoms

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2003
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    #15
    The Develop menu is also a great way to quickly launch websites already open in Safari that need Flash Player in Chrome, via the "Open Page With" submenu.
     
  15. Mal macrumors 603

    Mal

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2002
    Location:
    Orlando
    #16
    Use Click to Flash or Click to Plugin, then. Flash content won't load unless you click on it.

    jW
     
  16. andy8 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2009
    #17
    Good idea. Will try.
     
  17. dcorban macrumors 6502a

    dcorban

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    #18
    For what its worth, if you don't have Adobe Flash installed at all, Youtube now serves you the HTML5 video even if you are not in the "trial". However, there are still many videos with ads that are not compatible with the html5 player, so you will see a message saying the video is not available.

    I would complain about Youtube dragging their feet on this issue, but with its acquisition by Google and them being bed-buddies with Adobe now, I bet no one has touched the HTML5 code in a long time.
     
  18. offtheroad, Dec 24, 2012
    Last edited: Dec 24, 2012

    offtheroad macrumors regular

    offtheroad

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2007
    Location:
    Albuquerque, New Mexico
    #19
    Flash and Mountain Lion

    My entire site is Flash. I can't find an update for flash Player? So for the moment I can't launch my site on Mt. Lion?
     

Share This Page