Flash Player doesn't work on some sites

Discussion in 'iMac' started by ChohanL22, Feb 9, 2014.

  1. ChohanL22 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2014
    #1
    Hey, I'm running OS X 10.9.1, and have the latest Flash Player, but I can't seem to use it on a couple websites. Has anyone else had this problem and has resolved it? It's really disappointing.
     
  2. chabig macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2002
    #2
    Can you give us at least one of the website addresses? If you have Flash installed, it should work. Maybe you should uninstall and reinstall.
     
  3. ChohanL22, Feb 9, 2014
    Last edited: Feb 9, 2014

    ChohanL22 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2014
    #3
    For example, it works on youtube, but it doesn't work on other sites.

    Also, when I try to upload a picture to tinypic, it shows this:

    Code:
    Error 503 Service Unavailable
    
    Service Unavailable
    
    Guru Meditation:
    
    XID: 964832657
    
    Varnish cache server
    I've already tried clearing cache, it didn't make a difference.
    Maybe they're linked in a way?

    EDIT: Just tried uninstalling and reinstalling, didn't fix it.
     
  4. barkmonster macrumors 68020

    barkmonster

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2001
    Location:
    Lancashire
    #4
    That looks like a server-generated error at their end. If a site is unresponsive and throws up errors because of a reason like that, you can't do anything about it by changing any settings on your Mac.
     
  5. ChohanL22 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2014
    #5
    The error is only on my mac, my cousin's mac works without any problems. Could it have anything to do with the Mavericks OS?
     
  6. barkmonster macrumors 68020

    barkmonster

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2001
    Location:
    Lancashire
    #6
    I wonder if it's your router if that's the case. Not being able to connect to a server could be an error at network level.
     
  7. ChohanL22 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2014
    #7
    That might be the problem. Is there any way to fix this without having to buy a new router?
     
  8. xraydoc macrumors 604

    xraydoc

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2005
    Location:
    192.168.1.1
    #8
    I think what he meant was a DNS error or a problem with your ISP, not the router's hardware.

    What are your DNS settings? Are you using your ISP's DNS or a third party like OpenDNS or Google?
     
  9. ChohanL22 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2014
    #9
    I'm using 8.8.8.8 which I'm guessing is google's DNS.
     
  10. xraydoc macrumors 604

    xraydoc

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2005
    Location:
    192.168.1.1
    #10
    Just for s's & giggles, try resetting your router to all default settings and see what happens.
     
  11. ChohanL22 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2014
    #11
    That might have done the trick! Can't say for sure though.
     
  12. xraydoc macrumors 604

    xraydoc

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2005
    Location:
    192.168.1.1
    #12
    If that doesn't work, you can try erasing the hosts file on OS X. It can contain erroneous IP routing rules (or something of that nature). Better do some Google research, though, as I'm not 100% sure as to where to find it.
     
  13. MacGizmo macrumors 6502a

    MacGizmo

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2003
    Location:
    Arizona

Share This Page