Flash Player

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by Hook'Em2006, Feb 7, 2011.

  1. Hook'Em2006 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2009
    Location:
    Plano, TX
  2. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
  3. Hook'Em2006 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2009
    Location:
    Plano, TX
    #4
    I'm pretty sure it is installed. I downloaded it and selected to install. On some pages I go to, like macrumors.com, where videos are posted, it says "plug-in missing"
     
  4. hfg macrumors 68040

    hfg

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2006
    Location:
    Cedar Rapids, IA. USA
    #5
    After you download and install flash from the Adobe site ...

    You may also want to get control of it with "ClickToFlash":

    http://clicktoflash.com/

    -howard
     
  5. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #6
    Go here to check your currently-installed version of Flash Player:

    Find Flash Player version
     
  6. hfg macrumors 68040

    hfg

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2006
    Location:
    Cedar Rapids, IA. USA
    #7
    You may also need the "Flip4Mac" plug-in for some video file formats which are designed for Windows media viewer.

    -howard
     
  7. Hook'Em2006 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2009
    Location:
    Plano, TX
    #8
    Where can I get said plug-ins? Sorry, just made the switch to Mac Saturday. But other than a few things like this, all has Bren very amazing. Though I am wondering if I shoulda got the 15" MBP instead of the 13". I will have to be ire in 14 days!!! The apple store dude said I could exchange without a restocking fee luckily though!
     
  8. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #9
    Did you follow the link I posted? You can check your version and find and install the latest version from that link.
     
  9. geno59 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    #10
    I'm having the same issue. Even when I install adobe flash player, a message keeps popping up saying that I'm missing plug-ins. When I try to install plug ins manually, it takes me back to the adobe flash player page and the whole process repeats itself. I suspect my kids downloaded some player for their video games but I don't know how to go about fixing this problem.
     
  10. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #11
    Hook'Em2006 and geno59, is Flash Player listed when you go to Safari > Help >> Installed Plug-ins?
     
  11. highburyheroes macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2011
    #12
    This very issue happened to me when i brought my imac just a few weeks ago. A simple shut down, and then re start of the imac solved the problem. No idea why, as it never asks you to restart your imac, but it's what fixed mine :).

    Any reason apple macs aren't just shipped with flash player installed? Or is that a stupid question :/
     
  12. hfg macrumors 68040

    hfg

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2006
    Location:
    Cedar Rapids, IA. USA
    #13
    There are 2 reasons that I have heard:

    1) Steve Jobs doesn't like Flash, preferring HTML5, hence no flash on iPad.

    2) Flash has so many exploits, that requiring a fresh download insures that you have the latest version right from the start.
     
  13. geno59 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    #14
    No, but it does show I have the following:
    Adobe Acrobat and Reader Plug-in
    DivX Web Player
    Flip4Mac Windows Media Plugin 2.3.6
    Java Plug-In 2 for NPAPI Browsers
    Quartz Composer Plug-In
    QuickTime Plug-In 7.6.9
    RealPlayer Plugin.plugin
    Shockwave Flash
    Switchable Java Plug-in for WebKit
    Unity Player
    Verified Download Plugin

    Do I need all this stuff and if not, where can I remove it? Thanks for all your help!

    Gene
     

Share This Page