Flash: Show Graphic Symbol Frame by Label?

Discussion in 'Web Design and Development' started by Ansari, Aug 8, 2011.

  1. Ansari macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2008
    Location:
    Cambridge, Ontario
    #1
    I have a Graphic symbol with a few dozen animations taking place one after another. In my main timeline, I only want to show one animation at a time. Easy enough to do by setting the Looping of the symbol to Play Once and specifying which frame to start at.

    Within the graphic symbol, I have a layer with only labels on it and each animation has it's own label. In my main timeline, how can I specify where to play the graphic symbol from by label rather than by frame number?

    I'm working in CS4 using AS3.

    Thanks
     
  2. lucidmedia macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Location:
    Wellington, New Zealand
    #2
    you should be able to drop your frame labels into your gotoAndPlay actions wrapped in quotes.

    instancename.gotoAndPlay("framelabel");

    Can you give instance names to graphic symbols? I no longer use the Flash IDE. Back in the day I would use a Movie symbol instead of a graphic symbol to do the above, but it may not matter anymore.
     
  3. Ansari thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2008
    Location:
    Cambridge, Ontario
    #3
    It doesn't allow me to give an instance name to a graphic symbol.
     
  4. lucidmedia macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Location:
    Wellington, New Zealand
    #4
    Then you cannot address that content via actionscript. Copy and paste your animations out of the graphic and into a movie symbol.
     
  5. scottgroovez macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    #5
    Just turn the graphic instance into a movieclip instance (via the properties panel) and give it a name. You can then call name.gotoAndPlay(framelabel);
     

Share This Page