Flash storage? Other options? Upgrades?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by eprater2013, May 7, 2013.

1. eprater2013 macrumors newbie

Hi! I'm new to this site, and seeing I have several questions regarding the MacBook, I thought this would be the place to start.

I am about to purchase a MacBook Pro, and being I am not technologically savvy, I'm not sure which features I should pay to upgrade, and which I should leave alone.

I know for a fact I am purchasing the MacBook Pro 15" with Retina Display.

I will be using the MacBook for my undergraduate degree, (which I'm majoring in Biomedical Sciences), therefore I will have several biology, medical, anatomy & physiology, and math classes. I also plan to use the MacBook for Medical School in a few years.

I also plan to use the MacBook for personal use, storing my iTunes library, pictures, etc. but also want to have room for all of school papers and documents without the risk of running out of space.

SO....

Should I upgrade the processor from 2.7GHz to 2.8GHz?

Should I upgrade the 512gb of flash storage to the 768gb?

Thanks so much for everyone's expertise!

2. saturnotaku macrumors 68000

Is all the software you're going to use Mac compatible?

3. eprater2013 thread starter macrumors newbie

I'm not sure...I would assume so, as many other students attending the same school have a MacBook.

At this point, the only software programs that I know I will be using will be Blackboard, and a math software, which I know has a version for Mac products.

4. Bear macrumors G3

From what it sounds like you'll be using the Mac for, the processor upgrade doesn't sound necessary.

And as for what size SSD, a lot of people are just fine with 512 GB. It all depends how large the files you'll need to keep and how many of them. Although a lot of stuff can accumulate over several years of use.