Flash / Strobe Photography

Discussion in 'Digital Photography' started by MadDoc, May 26, 2008.

  1. MadDoc macrumors 6502

    MadDoc

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2005
    Location:
    UK
    #1
    Hi,

    I want to get into a bit of creative flash photography. All I currently own is a Nikon D60, 2 lenses a tripod and a SB-600 speedlight.

    I want to take some shots that have me in them several times. To achieve this I would be in a pitch-black room with the shutter open on bulb. I would then need to get someone to trigger (or myself) a flash to freeze me. I would then change position and repeat to get the shot I want.

    My question is - what do I need to remotely trigger a flash without closing/opening the shutter? I'm pretty sure this can't be done with my current speedlight. Do I need a strobe of some sort? What kind of equipment do I need?

    Thanks,

    MadDoc,
     
  2. sonor macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2008
    Location:
    London, UK
    #3
    With an SB-800 you can manually trigger it by pressing the FLASH button on the back. Does the SB-600 have the same button? If so, you or someone assisting can press the button each time you get in position.
     
  3. termina3 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Location:
    TX
    #4
    x2. just hold the flash near your waist, pointed up, and you'll get a pretty dramatic effect
     
  4. Piercey macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2008
    #5
    This might be over the top but you could pick up some pocket wizards.
     
  5. Gigman macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2007
    #6
    I couldnet agree more, awesome place to learn about flash, poke around the site and check out the Lighting 101/102 series, there both great ways to learn about off camera strobes.
    -Ian
     
  6. seenew macrumors 68000

    seenew

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2005
    Location:
    Brooklyn
    #7
    quoting again, for good measure. this site rocks.
     
  7. JKitterman macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2006
    #8
    The biggest problem is going to be light metering. If you are triggering the flash by pressing the discharge button,the flash will be firing at full power. You may have to use a ND filter because you are trying to get multiple exposures not over exposure.
     

Share This Page