Flashed 5700 GPU too hot in a mac pro

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by dezpixels, Jun 13, 2018.

  1. dezpixels macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2018
    #1
    I recently updated my old intel macpro. I have a flashed Ati Radeon 5700 video card, it recognizes it perfectly but soon it heats up a lot with hardly any activity and the fans start making a lot of noise.
    Can anybody help me? maybe the BIOS version or the flashing are not corrects?

    Thank you
     
  2. h9826790 macrumors G5

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #2
    I bet that's normal. Those old cards, especially with the blower type cooler, is very very noise when the card is under stress.

    Since it's quite old now. May be the fan isn't that effective, or very dusty inside, or the thermal paste dried out.

    In this case, the fan may have to work very hard to keep the GPU cool even just browsing the web.

    You may watch few youtube video about how to re-paste a graphic card. That may help.

    Of course, I expect you have leave some room for the card to breath. If the fan is completely covered by another card in slot 2. Then the fan noise actually means the BIOS / fan profile is working. And react correctly to avoid GPU overheat.
     
  3. dezpixels thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2018
    #3
    but there´s no stress in the video card and it´s too hot
    --- Post Merged, Jun 13, 2018 ---
    but there´s no stress in the video card and it´s too hot
     
  4. crjackson2134 macrumors 601

    crjackson2134

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2013
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    #4
    If it's not cooling properly, it is under stress...
     
  5. Theophany macrumors 6502a

    Theophany

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2008
    Location:
    NW London.
    #5
    Give the cooler a thorough blasting with some compressed air. If that doesn't help, remove the cooler and re-apply thermal paste. Given the age of the card it's probably overdue a new application of TIM.
     
  6. MIKX macrumors 65816

    MIKX

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2004
    Location:
    Japan
    #6
    I presume that your card is a HD 5770 ?

    Get yourself either a Gigabyte or HIS HD 7950 3Gb.

    They can easily be flashed for EFI boot ( PM me for the HIS ROM )

    And the 5.0 GT/s link speed hack is easy if one is slow and careful.
    ( Post #199 https://forums.macrumors.com/thread...-and-nvidia-card.1547340/page-8#post-24856990 ).

    My HIS iceQ HD7950 runs quiet and quiet cool. I got it here in Japan for about ¥8,500 + sales tax.( U.S.$ 77 ).

    I run two 24" monitors from this card.

    The EFI boot monitor connection is DVI>adaptor>HDMI cable.
    The 2nd. monitor is connected vis mDP>DVI

    The reference cards also have two BIOS's - there is a switch on the card.

    After installation i my 4,1>5.1 cMP I still have 3 PCIe slots free & in use with USB 3.0 + USB 3.1 cards and also a M.2 NVMe carrier card.

    Altogether a nice upgrade.

    The HD 7950 cards above will leave a HD 5770 for dead, speedwise.

    Even a HD 5870 will well outperform a HD 5770 and also the above mods can be appliedto them too.

    Every 6 months I remove my HIS HD 7859 and give it a good "de-dusting". O

    Once a year I re-apply thermal paste to the card's CPU.
     
  7. dezpixels thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2018
    #7
    Thanks @MIKX I'll keep it in mind. For now I prefer not to change the card. before flashing it it didn´t heat up or make as much noise, and otherwise it goes perfectly.
    I try to solve the problem that I have, I don´t know if it´s because of the flashing or the use of an incorrect bios.
     
  8. Macschrauber macrumors 6502

    Macschrauber

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2015
    Location:
    Germany
    #8
    Who flashed it ? Added the efi part to the original bios or just flashed it with some bios downloaded somewhere ?
     
  9. dezpixels thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2018
    #9
    I flashed it following these steps
    http://forum.netkas.org/index.php/topic,692.0.html

    Now I have reinstalled the original Bios and it doesn´t make noise or heat, so it´s a problem of the flashing.
    I will try to do it again. Any recommendation @Macschrauber ?
     
  10. tu2thepoo macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2017
    #10
    Just to make sure, did you do all of the steps for "2b. Then check if the ROM could hold the EFI."?

    Assuming there wasn't some error copying/pasting the commands it's possible your 5770 doesn't have enough room to store the EFI stuff.
     
  11. MIKX macrumors 65816

    MIKX

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2004
    Location:
    Japan
  12. Macschrauber macrumors 6502

    Macschrauber

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2015
    Location:
    Germany

Share This Page

11 June 13, 2018