Flashed GTX 680 4 gig and After Effects CC help...

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by violst, Jun 24, 2013.

  1. violst macrumors 6502

    violst

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2012
    #1
    Is anybody able to get AE CC to recognize the GTX 680 and take advantage of CUDA. AE CS6 seems to work but not CC. I'm on OSX 10.8.4

    If so what do I have to do to make it work?

    Thanks.
     
  2. MacVidCards Suspended

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Location:
    Hollywood, CA
  3. violst thread starter macrumors 6502

    violst

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2012
    #3
    Haven't done anything but update the OS to 10.8.4 and installed the card.

    Do I have to modify a .kext file to make it work?
     
  4. bsbeamer macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2012
    #4
    Haven't been on AE CC yet, but thought it was supposed to "ship" with support for any card without having to modify anything, which is what Premiere is now supposed to be doing.

    According to the latest tech specs, the GPU card list is still extremely limited on a Mac - http://www.adobe.com/products/aftereffects/tech-specs.html.

    The Premiere card list for Mac is better than it had been and supports the GTX 680 "out of the box" but not nearly as extensive as the Windows side. Lots of "FirePro" support there - http://www.adobe.com/products/premiere/tech-specs.html
     
  5. MacVidCards Suspended

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Location:
    Hollywood, CA
    #5
    Still needs CUDA drivers if he wants to use CUDA
     
  6. violst thread starter macrumors 6502

    violst

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2012
    #6
    Sorry . Yes I have the cuda drivers. AE CC Mac version supports a fraction of the cards that a PC does.

    I know there is a file you can modify to add your card to the list of supported, I just don't know how to do it.

    Adobe said they are thinking about opening up that list to unsupported cards at your own risk but have not done it yet.
     
  7. bsbeamer macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2012
    #7
    IF it's just a text file edit, then you'll need to go into the .APP file and "show package contents" and edit one of the files in there. There's likely a command line that's similar to the other methods, if you replace the accurate locations of the installed files.

    Check these instructions (post #3) and see if it gets you on the right path - you'll need to change the "CS6" info to the "CC" info:
    http://www.tonymacx86.com/graphics/72866-aftereffects-not-recognizing-gtx-680-cuda.html
     

Share This Page