Flashing a PC Radeon 9800 Pro

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by OrangeSVTguy, Dec 9, 2007.

  1. OrangeSVTguy macrumors 601

    OrangeSVTguy

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2007
    Location:
    Northeastern Ohio
    #1
    so yeah i just bought a pc version 9800 pro and i want to flash it to a mac. preferably to a 2x agp g4 sawtooth. it is a 8x/4x card and i read about taping the 3 and 11 pins to force it to run 2x. does anyone know where there's a good tutorial or guide on how to do it without having an agp pc? thanks
     
  2. macz1 macrumors 6502

    macz1

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2007
    #3
    If it's a sawtooth, you haven't to tape any pins. I flashed the same card for my sawtooth and it just works fine whitout taping. You have only to ensure that you pick the universal AGP version (two gaps between the contacts, AGP 2x/4x/8x) and not the AGP 4x/8x only.

    Afterwards, enjoy a quick finder and perfectly smooth Quartz animations and core graphics!
     
  3. OrangeSVTguy thread starter macrumors 601

    OrangeSVTguy

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2007
    Location:
    Northeastern Ohio
    #4
    first off thanks for everyone's help.

    did you use a pc to flash it or did you use your mac? should i buy a pci video card while i flash the agp one?

    i bought the 4x/8x(as far as i know not 2x) agp with the 2 gaps in the contacts. it's a 256mb card.

    here's a pic of it
    [​IMG]
     
  4. OrangeSVTguy thread starter macrumors 601

    OrangeSVTguy

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2007
    Location:
    Northeastern Ohio
    #5
    ok i got it today. now i just gotta figure out where to find a mac rom for the 256mb 9800 pro. i have a older pc with an agp slot which i can use to flash or use the blind method and flash it on the mac.
     
  5. macz1 macrumors 6502

    macz1

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2007
    #7
    Yes, that's the right one. You can use your mac to flash it. The most simple way to do it is to start the sawtooth with the card inserted and flash it using graphiccelerator. With a VNC connection you can see what you are doing, but you need a second mac...

    LINK to Graphiccelerator: http://thomas.perrier.name/graphiccelerator.html
     
  6. Macmadant macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2005
    #8
    So this card could be flashed without me having to get out the old soldering iron ?, if so i'm definitely gonna pick up a cheap radeon card
     
  7. ronss macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2007
    Location:
    phoenix,,,az
    #9
    i bought a radeon 9800 pro 128mg off ebay from someone that said it had been flashed by a professional.... and it works great,,, and i just love it..


    Chipset Model: ATY,R350
    Type: Display
    Bus: AGP
    Slot: SLOT-1
    VRAM (Total): 128 MB
    Vendor: ATI (0x1002)
    Device ID: 0x4e48
    Revision ID: 0x0000
    ROM Revision: 113-A07525-130
    Displays:
    HP w2207:
    Resolution: 1680 x 1050 @ 60 Hz
    Depth: 32-bit Color
    Core Image: Hardware Accelerated
    Main Display: Yes
    Mirror: Off
    Online: Yes
    Quartz Extreme: Supported
    Display Connector:
    Status: No display connected




     
  8. OrangeSVTguy thread starter macrumors 601

    OrangeSVTguy

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2007
    Location:
    Northeastern Ohio
    #10
    how much did you pay for it?

    i got my 256mb version for $61 shipped and i even got a nice pci tv tuner/capture card as well. not bad of a price if you ask me
     
  9. ronss macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2007
    Location:
    phoenix,,,az
    #11
    yea..i agree that i paid too much,,,i think it was $125... i should have done what you did,,,bought a pc 9800 pro,,and did the flash myself...i have flashed many bios,s over my life time, and fairly confident i could do it with the 9800 pro...just did not think of it

    wonder if you can flash it back to pc again?"??
     
  10. GodOfSharing macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2008
    Location:
    Hempstead, L.I., New York
    #12
    Need cheap PCI card. Which one will work

    Greetings Mac Forums:

    I recently got a:

    ATI Radeon 9800 128 MB DDR Pro Graphics Card (AGP)

    with the same number of slots as the 256 MB featured here.

    I have a sawtooth and need to know if a PCI card from a G3 will temporarily do for flashing the Radeon 9800?

    iMac ATI Rage Pro128 16MB PCI Video Card 109-57400-00

    http://cgi.ebay.com/iMac-ATI-Rage-P...ryZ25449QQssPageNameZWDVWQQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem
     
  11. OrangeSVTguy thread starter macrumors 601

    OrangeSVTguy

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2007
    Location:
    Northeastern Ohio
    #13
    yes the pci card should work. if you have another mac you can set up remote desktop on the computer with the card to get flashed and use another one to control that screen. i used my ibook with chicken of the vnc to control and do the flashing since i didn't have the pci card.

    be sure to download the right ROM. dl a compressed 64kb version as well as the original 128kb ROM. if the full sized doesn't work, use the reduced rom.

    just remember that a sawtooth is only an AGP 2x card and the 9800pros most likely are 4x/8x. so you will need to tape pins 3 & 11 to force it to run at 2x and work in your mac.

     
  12. GodOfSharing macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2008
    Location:
    Hempstead, L.I., New York
    #14
    Thanks for info

    Thanks for the info OrangeSVTguy:

    The only other Mac I have available is an old iMac, that boots sometimes.

    I might first try it's card or buy a cheap PCI.

    I believe my card fits the classification of Macz1 post
    I should have everything ready by the weekend.
     
  13. OrangeSVTguy thread starter macrumors 601

    OrangeSVTguy

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2007
    Location:
    Northeastern Ohio
    #15
    no problem GoS, here to help out when/where i can.

    i just picked up a PC 128mb 9800 pro so i can't wait to get that to flash it. considering they are pretty much just as fast, don't really need the 256mb. now i need to pick up an ati vga cooler for it so i don't fry this one :p
     
  14. GodOfSharing macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2008
    Location:
    Hempstead, L.I., New York
    #16
    Need updated flashing instructions 9800 Radeon

    Hey OrangeSVTguy:

    I will go with a Zalman cooler.

    The imac (Blueberry 333) is dead. Its video card isn't PCI nor AGP, it is a very small internal one.

    Let me know how flashing the PC 128mb 9800 Pro goes.

    I downloaded the current apps ATIccelerator II and Graphiccelerator, and Roms from: http://themacelite.wikidot.com/9800-working. The instructions on themaclite.wikidot.com are for flashing on a PC. I am performing this on a Mac with a PCI card (soon to arrive).

    I referred to the following instructions, http://www.cubeowner.com/forums/index.php?showtopic=8804&st=0

    but these instructions appear to be outdated (2004). It refers to ATIccelerator I. Do you know Where I can get updated instructions on how to flash the card on a Mac?

    But there is another issue. I installed ATIccelerator II and it doesn't appear in my APPLICATIONS column. Even after a few tries.

    I am running 10.5 Leopard.

    Aubrey
     
  15. GodOfSharing macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2008
    Location:
    Hempstead, L.I., New York
    #17
    (I found ATIccelerator II residing in System Preferences)

    I also found out in the Elite forums that ATICCelerator 1 was renamed Graphiccelerator.
     
  16. OrangeSVTguy thread starter macrumors 601

    OrangeSVTguy

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2007
    Location:
    Northeastern Ohio
    #18
    i used VNC with my ibook for flashing both my cards but using a pci card would be much easier(or pretty much the same) if your not familiar with remote desktop sharing. i also don't know if ATIccelerator II is familiar with leopard.

    hey let me know when you're ready to flash and i'll help you out, do you have msn messenger?
     
  17. GodOfSharing macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2008
    Location:
    Hempstead, L.I., New York
    #19
    Hey OrangeSVTguy:

    (I found ATIccelerator II residing in System Preferences) It was installed there instead of Applications Folder. It works in Leopard. Though not in "Safe Mode"

    For some reason MSN Messenger won't let me sign in. My E-Mail is Muslimcooking@verizon.net

    I will have the PCI card by next weekend.
     
  18. GodOfSharing macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2008
    Location:
    Hempstead, L.I., New York
    #20
    9800 installed

    Greetings OrangeSVTguy:

    Once again thanks for the help.

    The card was successfully installed.

    But the PCI card (3DfX Voodoo 3 2000 PCI 16MB), used for viewing the flashing, is a low power card and the graphics was grey and DPI looked like about 640 x 480 or something low resolution. Anyway it was very chopping hard to read and navigate through the screen. I could barely see what I was doing. I highly do not recommend using this particular card.

    I flashed with the full 128 ROM.

    The Zalman Cooler is excellent, especially with the PCI slot exhaust fan next to it.

    I have the OWC 1.4 GHz processor and it's heat sink position doesn't permit two of the eight (ram) heat sinks on the 9800 to be installed next to it. I am speaking about the eight blue aluminum ram heat sinks that are supplied with the VF700-Cu. And the metal brace plate on the Zalman had to be cut off about 1/8 and inch because it was touching the processor heat sink.

    I set the Processor and Memory MHZ to 389 and 344 respectively. 10.9% and 6.25% from the stock frequencies respectively. Everything appears cool.
     
  19. mark10197 macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2008
    #21
    Wow,
    I just read everything I found on this post and I was able to successfully flash my ATI Radeon 9800 pro 128mb, with ease. Now I can finally run iMovie 08, X-Plane now that my graphics supports core image.
    But I do need to find an ADC adapter so I can use my good display.
     
  20. OrangeSVTguy thread starter macrumors 601

    OrangeSVTguy

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2007
    Location:
    Northeastern Ohio
    #22
    Well congrats on your successful flashing process. I've done it quite a bit of times now on my G4s and G5s. Glad you found this useful, besides that's what it's here for! :cool:
     
  21. Ryousuke10 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2009
    #23
    flashed radeon 9800 pro

    has anyone know if a flashed 9800 pro would work back on a pc.
     
  22. OrangeSVTguy thread starter macrumors 601

    OrangeSVTguy

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2007
    Location:
    Northeastern Ohio
    #24
    If you backed up your original rom and flash it back, it will work on a PC.
     
  23. Ryousuke10 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2009
    #25
    flashed radeon 9800 pro

    i bought mine of ebay already flashed. how could i know if is flashed by rom or soldered?
     

Share This Page