flashing a stockAndroidROM using a MAC

Discussion in 'Alternatives to iOS and iOS Devices' started by zoran, May 24, 2014.

  1. zoran macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2005
    #1
    Im trying to flash the latest Android Stock ROM on my HTC DesireHD and i have found ways to do it using a WindowsPC but nothing Mac OSX related and this thing really bugs me! :mad:
    Does anyone know some way to do this from a mac?
     
  2. haxrnick macrumors 6502a

    haxrnick

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2011
    Location:
    Seattle
    #2
    Have you checked XDA? They always have mac methods there.
     
  3. zoran thread starter macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2005
    #3
    cant seem to find one for the DesireHD ive found one for the X1
     
  4. haxrnick macrumors 6502a

    haxrnick

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2011
    Location:
    Seattle
    #4
    How familiar are you with adb? It's really no different on a mac. You basically just add ./ in front of all your adb commands.
     
  5. zoran thread starter macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2005
    #5
    im not familiar with anything related to flashing stock roms using a mac etc
     
  6. Stooby Mcdoobie macrumors 6502a

    Stooby Mcdoobie

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2012
    #6
    A little more information is needed here. Which ROM are you trying to flash? Is it an HTC build, or is it AOSP? Is it an RUU, or a .zip file?
     
  7. zoran thread starter macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2005
  8. Stooby Mcdoobie macrumors 6502a

    Stooby Mcdoobie

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2012
    #8
    That looks like an exploit to gain S-OFF (among other things), not a ROM.
     
  9. zoran thread starter macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2005
    #9
    then you can imagine how irrelevant i am to all this stuff :D
     
  10. Stooby Mcdoobie macrumors 6502a

    Stooby Mcdoobie

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2012
    #10
    I don't mean this negatively, but it sounds like you would benefit greatly by doing a bit more research and spending a little more time figuring out exactly what and why you want to modify your device.
     
  11. zoran thread starter macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2005
    #11
    I don't want to modify it for performance, i want it to be stable and trustworthy. The problem is that its a phone originated from Australia and the only languages available in locale are Australian English and New Zealand English and i fear that this might have an impact on using it in Europe and working with my native language. So changing ROM (stock not custom), i believe this will be altered. Thanx for your comment though ;)
     
  12. haxrnick macrumors 6502a

    haxrnick

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2011
    Location:
    Seattle
    #12
    Can't you just change that in Settings > Language & Input? Are you already stock or is it rooted with a custom ROM?
     
  13. zoran thread starter macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2005
    #13
    Isnt there a way using a Mac to upgrade android 2.3.5 sense 3.0 + radio and bootloader (Latest stock ROM released for HTC Desire HD)?
     
  14. zoran, Jul 20, 2014
    Last edited: Jul 20, 2014

    zoran thread starter macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2005
    #14
    Ok i've managed to do it with help from a PC guy and using a PC (i hate that :( ).
    Now im trying to flash the latest Android Stock ROM to an even older phone (HTC DesireZ) by using a Mac! Anyone that can help this time?
     
  15. zoran thread starter macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2005
    #15
    I think i know now what i wanna do, will you help me please?
     

Share This Page