Flashing AMD 5770

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Antoni Nygaard, Jul 22, 2016.

  1. Antoni Nygaard macrumors 6502a

    Antoni Nygaard

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2009
    Location:
    Denmark
    #1
    Hi Everyone

    Hope you can help me. I just got my hands on a 5770 MSI with 2x DVI, 1x DisplayPort & 1x HDMI

    I just tried creating a rom but I get this error:

    dd: bs must be between 1 and 9223372036854775807

    How do I get around this? I'm uploading the rom if anyone is interested in giving it a shot, thanks

    https://www.dropbox.com/s/zwbp3gi6nwsxct8/5770pc.rom?dl=0
     
  2. keysofanxiety macrumors 604

    keysofanxiety

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2011
    #2
    Could you try this ROM and let me know how you get on? :)
     
  3. Antoni Nygaard thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Antoni Nygaard

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2009
    Location:
    Denmark
    #3

    I get nothing. it gives me no screen on both DVI ports. Not even th login screen shows up:(
     
  4. Fl0r!an macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2007
    #4
    And this is way you don't cross-flash ROMs from other GPUs. ;)

    You must have had a typo somewhere, I just ran the first two Terminal lines and it returned a valid $size.
    Consider using my EFI from this thread to get digital boot screens: http://forum.netkas.org/index.php/topic,10827.0.html
     
  5. Antoni Nygaard thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Antoni Nygaard

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2009
    Location:
    Denmark
    #5

    Thanks. can you tell which page it is on? the first page lists some for the 5870. Reading the the pages now.

    I got the card to work again doing the short circuit of pin 4 and 5 found an old thread on this site, for now it's reverted back to the standard rom
    --- Post Merged, Jul 22, 2016 ---
    Is the one you posted on page 5 called: 5770MOD2.efi.rom ?
     
  6. Fl0r!an macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2007
  7. Antoni Nygaard thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Antoni Nygaard

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2009
    Location:
    Denmark
    #7

    Just tried that one, that makes the card go dead as the other one. So i had to do the short circuit again. Another rom i can try? or can you modify the one i uploaded?:)
     
  8. Fl0r!an macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2007
    #8
    Good luck!
     

    Attached Files:

  9. Antoni Nygaard thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Antoni Nygaard

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2009
    Location:
    Denmark
    #9
    Thanks. Gonna try it now :D
    --- Post Merged, Jul 22, 2016 ---
    Thank you!! it's working! DVI lower port gives boot screen. upper dvi working but no boot screen. don't know if Display port i working. Hope it does.
     

Share This Page