Flashing bios

Discussion in 'Community Discussion' started by Ace134blue, Nov 3, 2009.

  1. Ace134blue macrumors 6502a

    Ace134blue

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    #1
    Ok, so a company is throwing out a bunch of dells (i was like "great!") and are converting to macs. Turns out the machines are pretty decent. They were all intel core 2 duos E6600 at 2.4 ghz. They are dells though but the optiplex 745 seems to be laid out pretty good inside. So i thought i would just reformat them and try some overclocking.

    One problem, bios. I do know it is a phoenix and is on ROM BIOS Version 1.0 2.6.2 and the motherboard is foxconn. Anyone ever flashed a dells bios? Help would be greatly appreciated
     
  2. Zombie Acorn macrumors 65816

    Zombie Acorn

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario
    #2
    the first thing I would check is the bios to see if there is an option to flash bios at all, if there isn't it may just be easier to buy a new mainboard that is built for overclocking.
     
  3. ravenvii macrumors 604

    ravenvii

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2004
    Location:
    Melenkurion Skyweir
    #3
    Just check Dell's support site for the model. If there's a BIOS update, it'll be there.

    It will require DOS. If you have Windows installed, no problem. If not, then you'll have to figure out how to boot into a DOS environment and run the update.

    If the reason you want to update is because of a password, I have exactly the same problem, and not able to solve it, either.
     
  4. tman07 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2009
    #4
    few things-
    1. Dells lock down overclocking. You would have to get a board that supports overclocking and throw all the components into that one. By locked down, i mean super locked down, no hacker has yet (to my knowledge) been able to bypass it.

    2. Bios updates on dells are super easy, go to dell.com and download it, its a little .exe prog and it takes care of everything. Did it not too long ago on my buddies laptop.

    3. If there is a bios password you are trying to get around, again not very difficult. On the main board somewhere (google dell optiplex xxx bios pw jumper) there should be a jumper you move and it will reset the password. A buddy of mine was in that same situation, just moved the jumper from pin and it was reset. google is your friend.
     
  5. Rodimus Prime macrumors G4

    Rodimus Prime

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2006
    #5
    not true there. Depending on the mobo manufature you can flash from inside windows. I have installed multiple updates to the BIOS on my computer from with in windows. It reflashes the chip and it takes full effect on the next reboot.
     
  6. Ace134blue thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Ace134blue

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    #6
    I know how to update the bios, thats easy. I was just wanting to flash the bios to allow me more options for the cpu. Just cant find the Bios ID or the motherboard model. :(
     

Share This Page