Flashing Folder With Question Mark

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by iranintoavan, Sep 6, 2007.

  1. iranintoavan macrumors regular

    iranintoavan

    Joined:
    May 3, 2005
    #1
    I have a new santa rosa macbook pro and I do not know what happened to it. It was going a little slow and I guess I was being impatient, so I decided to hold down the power button and do a hard reset. I turned it back on and it went straight to a flashing folder with a ? mark in the middle. I instantly went on my mac pro and looked up info on this. So far I have reset the PRAM and have also tried to repair it with the start up disk by holding C. When I run disk utility this is what I get.

    It comes up with the hard drive with the manufacture name and everything and below it is my hard drive. I try to do First Aid > repair Disk on it but it fails. Also my hard drive says it is not mounted. So I am not too sure what to do.

    Here is a screen shot of disk utility. Not the best quality but it will have to do.

    http://tinyurl.com/2udpx8
     
  2. Natalia81 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2004
    #2
    This happened to me about 2 days after I got mine (2 weeks ago). I got the folder with the ? and just restarted it again by holding the power button. Luckily it booted up like normal. I looked it up on Apple.com support and it said you get that sometimes when it can't find the boot drive.
     
  3. iranintoavan thread starter macrumors regular

    iranintoavan

    Joined:
    May 3, 2005
  4. richard.mac macrumors 603

    richard.mac

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2007
    Location:
    51.50024, -0.12662
    #4
    try repairing permissions and verifying your disk using disk utility on you installation dvd and then resetting the PRAM. this helped me.
     
  5. rossgumbrell macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Location:
    Hove, South East England
    #5
    I hate to be the one who breaks the news. But i can tell you straight out that your HDD has failed! :(

    Happened to me with my PBG4. Comps starts to slow down, not doing anything. Hard reset then boom!... no life in its little soul.

    I hope you backed up all your data?

    Get on the phone to Apple and get it replaced. Unfortunately mine failed out of warrenty so had to buy the HDD myself and fit it myself. Pretty easy to do, also, knew what i was doing as had been working in an Apple Premium Reseller for 9 months.
     
  6. iranintoavan thread starter macrumors regular

    iranintoavan

    Joined:
    May 3, 2005
    #6
    Alright, I have been trying many different things and so far nothing has worked. I am beginning to believe that you are right. I don't have anything backed up but the good thing is that it is just my laptop and i don't keep anything on it. I sync everything to my desktop, so I wont loose anything really. But I will for sure buy a backup hard drive now for my desktop...just in case.
     

Share This Page