Flashing green pixels

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by phildachil, Mar 23, 2014.

  1. phildachil macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2014
    #1
    Just this morning, I opened up my MBP and there were green flashing pixels all over the screen. 20 minutes before that, the flashing pixels weren't there. It's not dead pixels, because it shows up on screenshots. It's a 2011 Model, 15' and the graphics card is an Intel HD Graphics 3000 384 MB.
    Here is a picture of what it looks like.

    [​IMG]

    I've tried updating software, re-booting but nothing is working. Any help?
     
  2. FishPie macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2014
    #2
    Flashing green pixels

    I had the same problem, could not get them to go away after upgrading to Mavericks.

    I tried PRAM resets, erased hard drive with multiple installs and reboots.

    The problem began after an upgrade to Mavericks on iMac 27" problem got worse with reboots and reinstalls.

    I did another reboot with mavericks, but chose NOT to use my APPLE i.d to fill in/ restore information - upon finishing install ----> no flashing pixels.

    Dunno why, but it worked????
     
  3. tubeexperience macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2016
  4. gkofficial macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2016
    #5
    Awesome, Just got a brand new logic board put in, free of charge! I'll defiantly hold on to it now for a while longer, it's getting heavier after picking up the new ones.
     
  5. tubeexperience macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2016
    #6
    It's a refurbished logic board. Apple just re-soldered the GPU.
     
  6. gkofficial macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2016
    #7
    Yeah right, that makes sense, I wish they could tell me that when I picked it up. The only thing that's ever bugged me about Apple is their company policy seems to suggest it's 'OK' to be dishonest to customers, I would hate to think it's an American thing, I can't talk being Australian though, we are a convict settlement.
     
  7. Samuelsan2001 macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2013
    #8
    The information that they may use refurbished parts is freely available on their terms and conditions of repair on their website they aren't hiding anything.

    More importantly the replacement logic boards often fail much more quickly than the original so don't expect too much.
     

Share This Page