Flashing HD7950 Powercolor PCS+ does not work

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Spacedust, Aug 20, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Spacedust, Aug 20, 2014
    Last edited: Aug 20, 2014

    Spacedust macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Location:
    Poland
    #1
    I needed a better performance on OpenCL so I've bought PowerColor HD7950 PCS+ to flash it. It seems to be a reference board but I cannot add EFI to it.

    [​IMG]

    It seems it has BIOS + UEFI on it. How to resolve this ?

     
  2. MacVidCards Suspended

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Location:
    Hollywood, CA
    #2
    Successful flash requires precision.

    You can start with a more precise title to this thread

    You have not in fact even gotten close to flashing, your problem seems to be with fixrom.py

    So you are still in rom creation area.

    If it is TRULY a reference design you can try the original Mac 7950 rom first.

    I would ONLY do that if it has a Dual position rom switch.

    So, if it buggers it up you flip the switch, boot, then flip and reflash

    But you really need to identify where the problem actually is.

    Looks like file got created but the checksum didn't get fixed.

    BTW, don't be frightened of looking at file in hex editor.

    It is just like looking at a text document, each rom opens with "55aa" then a byte telling you how long it is.

    Very last byte is checksum. In AMD you will see PC BIOS first, it will have a bunch of "FFFFFF" or "00000" then a final checksum.

    Very next line will be EFI, it will also start with "55aa" usually at offset 65536.

    If it is the Mac EFI you will see "lialcbeP" in the right column in first few lines.
     
  3. Spacedust, Aug 21, 2014
    Last edited: May 14, 2016

    Spacedust thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Location:
    Poland
    #3
    <cut>
     

    Attached Files:

  4. h9826790, Aug 21, 2014
    Last edited: Aug 23, 2014

    h9826790 macrumors G3

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #4
    I simply open your ROM in VBE7 and save it to a new file, then everything is fixed. I can't test the file since I don't have this card. But the terminal result looks very good to me.

    Anyway, both your normal and OC EFI ROM image file are contained in the Zip file.

    terminal.png

    [ROM image file removed]
     
  5. Spacedust thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Location:
    Poland
    #5
    Thanks for help - it seems only this 47 (aka G) was added. It works fine !

    Tested version nr 1 ;)
     
  6. Spacedust thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Location:
    Poland
    #6
    The funny thing is - I just plugged second card which looks like the same as the first one but it doesn't have that crazy UEFI bios- just normal BIOS ;)
     
  7. h9826790 macrumors G3

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #7
    Wow! Dual 7950, lovely ;)

    Did you run that only with internal power?
     
  8. Spacedust thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Location:
    Poland
    #8
    It needs external power supply ;) It will be only for some heavy gaming days (GTA V is coming to PC). Normally I would use just GTX680.
     
  9. Ironjer macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2013
    #9
    Do you have 2 identical GPU?

    The first GPU is working with EFI BIOS correctly?

    If it is. You need Flash the Second One with the same image what you used in the other one.

    currently i'm using 2 7950 Boost (Reference Model) is working good with EFI BIOS BootScreen and 5.0 GT/S in OSX and Windows.
     
  10. 666sheep macrumors 68040

    666sheep

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Location:
    Poland
    #10
    You're selling cards on eBay and you don't even know how to make a ROM, lux-park?
    That's pathetic. And you're even using screenshot I posted on MR in your lousy auctions.
    That's twice pathetic.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page