Flashing Nvidia Cards?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by plentyoftimeto69, Mar 21, 2017.

  1. plentyoftimeto69 macrumors member

    plentyoftimeto69

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2016
    Location:
    Tampa
    #1
    Is it possible to flash an Apple bios onto a non-Apple Nvidia card? I've got an old 660 in my Mac Pro 2,1 and I'd like some boot screen action if possible.
     
  2. ActionableMango macrumors 604

    ActionableMango

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    #2
    No you can't get boot screens on that card for your Mac.
     
  3. plentyoftimeto69 thread starter macrumors member

    plentyoftimeto69

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2016
    Location:
    Tampa
  4. Fl0r!an macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2007
    #4
    I made a ROM for the GTX 660 based on the 680 EFI some time ago, but it kept crashing as soon as the OS X drivers took over (boot screens worked perfectly fine), not sure why.
    Didn't investigate it any further since I moved the GPU to my old hackintosh.
     
  5. plentyoftimeto69 thread starter macrumors member

    plentyoftimeto69

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2016
    Location:
    Tampa
    #5
    Damn, I'll probably just leave it alone then. Are there any cheap, Apple-flashed cards that are recommended? I'm not gaming on this box or anything. Usually doing audio recording or stuff for work, so I really only need a smooth GUI experience.
     
  6. ActionableMango macrumors 604

    ActionableMango

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    #6
    You have to be careful because some cards like the GT120 and 8800GT have two versions - either 32-bit EFI or 64-bit EFI. And the 64-bit EFI ones won't work in your old Mac.

    The GT120 seems to be the go-to card that people recommend for cheap price and having boot screens. So if you can find a 32-bit EFI GT120 card, that would do.

    I have a GT120 in one of my Mac Pros and it does 3440x1440 just fine for non-graphics related tasks.
     
  7. Blackey Cole macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2017
    #7
    I used my old geforce gtx680 after buying the correct label from amazon. ill flash it down the road when it stops working as is.
     

Share This Page