Flashing underscore when booting Win 7

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by SomeSwede, Sep 13, 2009.

  1. SomeSwede macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2009
    Location:
    Land of ice and snow.
    #1
    Hi.

    I recently installed Windows 7 Ultimate on my 2007 iMac, and so far everything is running flawlessly EXCEPT that every time I boot in to Windows I am greeted with a flashing underscore for about 55 seconds before the boot process continues.

    Has anyone any idea what the cause and solution to this little irritating problem might be?

    I used the drivers included on the SL DVD in case anyone is wondering.

    Here is a short video clip showing the whole boot process: http://data.fuskbugg.se/skalman01/090909170017.3gp
     
  2. Fgozalo macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2008
    Location:
    Brasília, Brazil
    #2
    Hey there,

    as previously read on another topic, the most likely cause to it is that if you downloaded your copy trhough torrents or alike, the underscore means that a bios hack is being loaded before the actual boot up.

    :)

    thread: http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=785207

    PS': Sorry for my English, it's not first language nor second.
     
  3. ryannazaretian macrumors 6502a

    ryannazaretian

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    Location:
    Mississippi
    #3
    That's not necessarily true. I have the flashing underscore on my Vista Ultimate 32bit setup, and it's a legitimate copy that I bought through my University.

    From what I understand, it is the bios trying to find a start path to boot from. Maybe it's a little slower due to a bios emulation problem or that the bootloader is messed up.
     
  4. ayeying macrumors 601

    ayeying

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Location:
    Yay Area, CA
    #4
    You would see a flashing underscore for a little while, but not 55 seconds as the OP suggested. I have about 1-3 seconds on my legit Vista Business 64-bit on my macbook air
     
  5. SomeSwede thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2009
    Location:
    Land of ice and snow.
    #5
    That would make sense i guess. :(

    And i suspect that this forum is the wrong place to look for a better bios hack, so i'll thank you for your reply and look elsewhere for a solution.
     
  6. Stridder44 macrumors 68040

    Stridder44

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2003
    Location:
    California
    #6
    I don't think it would be from the copy being downloaded from torrents. I think it would be from the activator cracks, which have a BIOS hack.
     
  7. mr666 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2009
    #7
    What is a "BIOS hack"? If the BIOS is a chipset, how does the installer hack it? Would that cause the BIOS to need a flash to get back to its original condition? I wonder if your term "BIOS hack" is accurate.

    I have installed 7 on two different computers using the same DVD with the issue occurring on one but not the other. Does that mean the installer hacked one but didn't hack the other? I rather doubt it, since the one with the issue has no BIOS to hack.
     
  8. balamw Moderator

    balamw

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    New England
    #8
    Some "pre-activated" copies of Windows look for a particular OEM's BIOS instead of activation. They can be fooled by installing a bit of software before Windows that will imitate the required BIOS.

    It's very similar to how OS X can be fooled that it is running on a Mac when installing a hackintosh.

    B
     

Share This Page