flashing world on startup

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by happyfish, Dec 8, 2007.

  1. happyfish macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2007
    #1
    Ok im using a new iMac 20" 2.4ghz.
    its running on lepoard.
    this is my first Mac and so far im not that impressed.

    It was starting up fine for about 5 days, but now im getting a flashing world in the midle of the screen for about 5 munutes then it starts up.

    I have read about a flashing question mark but cannot find any reference to what I have. They Probably just changed the icon, but I want to make sure.

    Any ideas much appreciated.

    Cheers people.
     
  2. kwood macrumors 6502a

    kwood

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2006
    Location:
    In the Great White North.
    #2
    Force the computer to boot into Mac OS X, then go to System Preferences and reset the Start-up volume to 10.5 on Macintosh HD.

    Steps:
    1. Restart the computer.
    2. Press and Hold "X" until you get to the desktop.
    3. Go to System Preferences>Start-up Disk.
    4. Select the Folder that says "Mac OS X 10.5.X on Macintosh HD."
    5. Hit restart.

    Keyboard Short cuts.
    Apple article about the issue.
     
  3. xUKHCx Administrator emeritus

    xUKHCx

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2006
    Location:
    The Kop
    #3
    Replce world with globe and you will find plenty

    offical kb article

    you can always reset your pram to get around this as well

     
  4. happyfish thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2007
    #4
    cheers for that guys/gals

    I did think about going down that route after reading several post, but thought I better check first before I make things worse.


    "Globe" That was the word I was looking for. im having a mental block day.

    working again thanks...
     
  5. xUKHCx Administrator emeritus

    xUKHCx

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2006
    Location:
    The Kop
    #5
    Well its good to have the world version up as well in case someone else has a mental block.

    As to why it happened, dunno maybe something got changed during a shutdown that caused it to switch to this state. It seems that whenever it happens on here (as most people are very scared afterall it is pretty scary they come on here to ask about it, see one of the links they are claiming it is a virus) and have no idea why it happened so perhaps a small bug that comes up under very specific circumstances that causes it.

    glad you got it working again, if it happens again you will know what to do. If someone else posts a similar problem I expect to be racing you to provide an answer :)
     
  6. Blogger macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2002
    Location:
    Local
    #6
    It's trying to start up from a network drive, failing and then starting up normally. The fix is go to System Prefs, select Start up Disk, and select your boot drive.
     

Share This Page