Flashing XFX 5870. Help needed

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Jose76, Feb 6, 2016.

  1. Jose76 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2013
    Location:
    Spain
    #1
    Hi!

    Making things short, I plugged a XFX HD5870 to my cMP 5.1 (no boot screen, of course), to flash it. So, I burned a DVD with FreeDOS to be in the process, but I can't boot from that DVD!
    Is there any other method to flash it?

    Thanks!
     
  2. h9826790 macrumors 604

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
  3. Macschrauber macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2015
    #3
    I installed FreeDos on a 80 Gb hard drive what I pulled from the dumpster
     
  4. Jose76 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2013
    Location:
    Spain
    #4
    Well, I tried to install Win7 through Bootcamp but:
    1.- It doesn't recognize any of the Windows installers I've got and, worst of all:
    2.- I can't download the original ISO from MS's web using a legal serial number!

    So I can't boot from FreeDOS or install Windows in Bootcamp :-(
     
  5. Macschrauber macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2015
    #5
    Keep on with freedos, USB Stick, HD (or free up some megs and add a Partition). Win is overdose for just running the flasher
     
  6. h9826790 macrumors 604

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #6
    For bootcamp 5, you need a disk to install Windows, can't just use ISO.
     
  7. Jose76 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2013
    Location:
    Spain
    #7
    Did a FreeDOS bootable-usb, but I can't see the boot screen when I plug the 5870 in and I can't choose the usb in OS X's Preferences to boot from it.
    Is it El Cap´s fault? Why can't it boot from FreeDOS (DVD or USB)??
    --- Post Merged, Feb 7, 2016 ---
    Maybe because my OS X is on the PCIe SSD and no other HDD/SSD is bootable in my Mac Pro?
     
  8. Macschrauber macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2015
    #8
    if you pull the PCIe Card and just let the USB Stick in ? Otherwise: Dont you have any HD what you can set in the Mac ?
     
  9. Jose76 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2013
    Location:
    Spain
    #9
    I'll try pulling the PCIE card
     
  10. Fl0r!an macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2007
    #10
    You can't boot FreeDOS form USB on a MacPro, DVD should work fine though.
     
  11. h9826790 macrumors 604

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #11
    I am a bit confused. I am not very familiar with FreeDOS. However, I don't think that you can get anything display with a non-flashed card in FreeDOS.

    You can get the screen once you boot to desktop in both OSX or Windows with the non-flashed 5870, but not in FreeDOS.

    So, it's not about overkill or not, but you need Windows to flash the card (unless you already has a Mac card / flashed card).
     
  12. Fl0r!an macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2007
    #12
    FreeDOS will work fine with a PC card since it uses legacy VBIOS, just like a non-EFI Windows install (where you'll also see a Windows boot logo before the drivers are loaded). You'll just have boot it blindly (e.g. press & hold C).
     
  13. h9826790 macrumors 604

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #13
    I see, it's good to know that, thanks!
     
  14. MacVidCards Suspended

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Location:
    Hollywood, CA
    #14
    I used to use FREEDOS. Trick with a CD is to either burn it with all flashing files built in to CD image or know how to change to a FAT32 volume that has them.

    Especially tricky if you want to dump the PC BIOS first, as this is MANDATORY for a good flash result.

    It is possible to use IOREG explorer and literally copy & paste the AMD BIOS from there into a hex edit file. It won't contain the UEFI but you don't really need it unless you might want to use in a real PC later for Win "fast boot"
     
  15. Jose76 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2013
    Location:
    Spain
    #15
    Well, I removed all the drives and installed the PC's HD5870, then tried to boot from the FreeDOS DVD with no result. I mean, I can hear the DVD spinning for a while, but nothing is displayed on any of the 2 monitors (DVI Dual link + VGA via DVI adaptor).

    What can I do?
     
  16. Synchro3, Feb 13, 2016
    Last edited: Feb 13, 2016

    Synchro3 macrumors 65816

    Synchro3

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2014
    #16
    Burn a DOS 6.22 or other iso image on a CD and try starting it: http://www.allbootdisks.com/download/iso.html

    If the CD does not start the DVD drive is the issue. Had once a DVD drive that could not boot anything, changed it with a HL DT drive and no boot problems anymore.

    One other thing: Maybe FREEDOS is booting, but you don't see anything because you don't have an EFI card plugged in?
     
  17. h9826790 macrumors 604

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #17
    It seems EFI GPU is not required for FreeDOS to show the screen.
     
  18. Jose76 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2013
    Location:
    Spain
    #18
    Thanks! I'll try that.
    I tried to boot FreeDOS with the original 5770 plugged in and I can't boot/see anything either
    --- Post Merged, Feb 14, 2016 ---
    Inserted an OSX Lion installer DVD and it doesn't appear as bootable, so I guess the Superdrive is the problem. I'll look for another drive and give it a try.
    Thanks for the tips!
     

Share This Page