Flat Bed Scanner

Discussion in 'Design and Graphics' started by macellie, Jun 14, 2010.

  1. macellie macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010
    #1
    I'm looking for a flatbed scanner to scan photographs and images. I was using an HP scanjet 8200 but it's not supported by SL 10.6.3 apparently according to HP.

    Can anyone recommend another that is, that is good quality? I think I want a larger capacity scan size.

    ty.
     
  2. THX1139 macrumors 68000

    THX1139

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    #2
    Well, it depends on how big you want to go. I recently bought a Epson Perfection V500 Photo and it's very nice.
     
  3. macellie thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010
    #3

    That one looks like it may suit my needs... It is the same size as my hp in size and scan size capacity. I don't actually want anything larger than that as it will take up too much space.

    Do you know if any of the Canon scanners work with Mac systems? They look so streamlined and that makes them appealing to me.

    Thank you.
     
  4. Doctor Q Administrator

    Doctor Q

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2002
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #4
    I could use a new flatbed scanner too. It needs to be letter-size; that's all I want to devote the table space to!
     
  5. macellie thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010
    #5
    I can understand that :) I scan some larger things sometimes so I need a larger size.
     
  6. tooz macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2009
    #6
    I have an epson TX550W all-in-one and it's great. The fact that it's Wi-Fi means I can scan to my laptop in the lounge while my scanners in my bedroom!
     
  7. covisio macrumors 6502

    covisio

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2007
    Location:
    UK
    #7
    They work but I found the image quality awful on the one I had. I took it back and bought an Epson which was massively better.

    I also use VueScan Professional software which has allowed me to calibrate the scanner properly, and is way better than the bundled Epson software.
     
  8. jeremy h macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #8
    I recently replaced an A3 Linotype (with it's own pro software but it could only really run on system 9) with an Epson v700. It's neat scanner. The quality is very good.

    Mine came with Silver Fast which is in my opinion a bit of an odd bit of software. It's quirky, feels very much like a system 9 app and doesn't give me anything like the options the pro Linotype software gave me but - it does work - and I get decent scans.

    I'd recommend it.
     

Share This Page