Flights climbed bug

Discussion in 'Apple Watch' started by Pagemakers, May 30, 2015.

  1. Pagemakers, May 30, 2015
    Last edited: May 30, 2015

    Pagemakers macrumors 68000

    Pagemakers

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2008
    Location:
    Manchester UK
    #1
    In V1 I noticed that the data source for "flights climbed" was only the iPhone and not the watch.

    I was just about to ask why the watch didn't count flights of stairs when I noticed in V1.01 there are now 2 data sources. The watch is the primary source and the iPhone the secondary source.

    However, if you view all data you will see that the watch has not detected a single flight of stairs. Not one.

    So now you have a situation where 2 people wearing watches and climbing the same flight of stairs. The person with their iPhone in their pocket will correctly records the data and the person who's iPhone is stuck on their desk will record 0 flights of stairs climed.
     
  2. dhlizard macrumors G4

    dhlizard

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Location:
    The Jailbreak Community
    #2
    The watch does not measure barometer or altimeter like iPhone does.
     
  3. Pagemakers thread starter macrumors 68000

    Pagemakers

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2008
    Location:
    Manchester UK
    #3
    Then why is it added to the Heath app by Apple as a data source in v1.01?

    I didn't add it and I can't remove it.

    If you're right then it is the ONLY data source added by Apple to monitor an aspect of health that does nothing. In that case why is it there?
     

    Attached Files:

  4. Julien macrumors G3

    Julien

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2007
    Location:
    Atlanta
    #4
    The :apple:Watch does not have a barometer so it can't know altitude change to measure flights climbed. Not sure why it is included as a source for you. I have an iPhone 5S (no barometer either) and don't get any flights climbed info. Also have no sources listed.
     
  5. Pagemakers thread starter macrumors 68000

    Pagemakers

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2008
    Location:
    Manchester UK
    #5
    Somebody better tell Apple then!
     

    Attached Files:

  6. Julien macrumors G3

    Julien

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2007
    Location:
    Atlanta
    #6
    Again the :apple:Watch doesn't have a barometer. There is no other way to measure elevation change (except using GPS coordinates combined with known geological survey data which doesn't work inside or for stairs). In order to measure flights climbed the :apple:Watch MUST be paired with an iPhone 6/6 Plus' barometer.

    You yourself say "...the watch has not detected a single flight of stairs. Not one...." which is correct because it can't.
     
  7. papbot macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 19, 2015
    #7
    I have an iPhone 6 and only it is shown as a data source in that Flights Climbed screen.
     
  8. Pagemakers thread starter macrumors 68000

    Pagemakers

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2008
    Location:
    Manchester UK
    #8
    Thanks Julien.

    You make it clear. Apple doesn't.

    ----------

    V1.0 or 1.01?
     
  9. Julien, May 30, 2015
    Last edited: May 30, 2015

    Julien macrumors G3

    Julien

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2007
    Location:
    Atlanta
    #9
    The page you quoted doesn't say it records stairs. It is just listing activities that would get you HR up enough to count as exercise and stairs are included. Obviously :apple:Watch can't know you are playing with your kids.:D

    EDIT: Just to add I hope Apple adds a barometer to the gen 2. I want this more than GPS. It is important in determining calorie burn when running in up/down elevations. Although I always have my iPhone with me and I will have a6S before a gen 2 :apple:Watch.:eek:
     
  10. papbot macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 19, 2015
    #10
    I have 1.0.1 on the watch. My iPhone 6 is the only listed source for Flights Climbed.
     
  11. Pagemakers thread starter macrumors 68000

    Pagemakers

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2008
    Location:
    Manchester UK
    #11
    Strange. I have an iPhone 6 and so does my mate and we both have the watch and iPhone option in the Heath app.

    You can't manually add it yourself and it wasn't there in 1.0 so I have no idea how it got there.

    You can't remove it either.
     
  12. FunkyTang macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2008
    #12
    My setup with a ver 1.01 Watch and an iPhone 6 lists the watch and the phone as a Flights Climbed data source but all the data comes from the phone.
     
  13. papbot macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 19, 2015
    #13
    The Health App lists both the phone and the watch as a data source but only the iPhone 6 for flights climbed. Which makes sense because the watch couldn't supply any such data. Why it appears as a source on your's and other's phones is mysterious.
     
  14. Phily macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    #14
    With 1.0.1. even the HR doesn't count anymore because it's only recorded when the arm is not in motion. But if you take the stairs, your arms are moving. Or you have to start an exercise for every stairs you take. This "feature" is so ridiculous. :mad:
     
  15. papbot macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 19, 2015
    #15
    I just make a manual check when I've reached the end of the stairs. Easy enough to do. I used to use a separate phone app to do it that used the camera's flash to get your heart rate. Now I can use the watch. Much more convenient.
     
  16. Phily macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    #16
    I don't call it very convenient to check the HR manually after every stairs I take. I want my watch to do it automatically, just like in OS 1.0
     
  17. papbot macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 19, 2015
    #17
    If I'm using the stairs for an exercise session I'll just engage a workout app and then it will continuously record my HR. It may not do it the way you want but the functions are all there. I've posted this before but if tracking heart rate every 10 minutes no matter what was your only interest in this device then you grossly overpaid. There are other cheaper devices that will do that for you.
     

Share This Page