iPhone flipswitch?

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by white4s, Jun 30, 2014.

  1. white4s macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2011
    Location:
    New Jersey
    #1
    what's flipswitch? it's from ryan petrich

    i have an update for it but i don't believe i have this tweak even installed. i checked the list of tweaks & it's not in there.

    very strange
     
  2. Asator macrumors 6502a

    Asator

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2011
    Location:
    Australia
    #2
    It's a centralised toggle system. You probably installed CCToggles or something like that which needed it to be installed.
     
  3. white4s thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2011
    Location:
    New Jersey
    #3
    don't have cctoggles but i have ccloader which i checked the filesystem content & flipswitch is not part of it. checked the tweaks that i have from him & none have flipswitch

    but i just found it in the recent menu. still not sure how it was installed
     
  4. 007p macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2012
    #4
    It comes with Activator as well. You have that installed...right!?
     
  5. white4s thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2011
    Location:
    New Jersey
    #5
    yup, didn't see flipswitch listed in the filesystem content though?
     
  6. eyoungren macrumors P6

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    Phoenix • 85037
    #6
    It got installed at some point once the betas of Activator started including iOS 7. For me at least. I think I have a few other tweaks that use it. It's a mundane tweak though, meaning that it being there isn't going to hurt anything. Petrich's tweaks are safe.

    Not entirely clear exactly what function it serves in my case however, as I'm on iOS 6.1.
     
  7. white4s thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2011
    Location:
    New Jersey
    #7
    yea i read the description but really can't understand what it does exactly
     
  8. eyoungren macrumors P6

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    Phoenix • 85037
    #8
    My best guess is that it's a middleman for something else. CCToggles is mentioned in this thread. Flipswitch is probably the link between a tweak and CCToggles. Do something in the tweak and it talks to flipswitch which then talks to CCToggles.

    That again, is just my guess. Petrich isn't known for describing what his tweaks do unfortunately.
     
  9. nwmtnbiker macrumors 68000

    nwmtnbiker

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2011
    Location:
    Fidalgo Island
    #9
    While in cydia and looking in the installed tab did you see the top where it says expert that'll show all instated. Cydia is layed our different from last time I was jb... I personally while installing tweaks take a screen shot of each tweak and it's depencies and save them in a folder so if I remove later I remove all of it...
     
  10. 007p macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2012
    #10
    In activator, on ios 6, do you have a 'Switches Category'? E.g. "Airplane mode - Activate/deactivate swtich'.

    If so, that is what its for in ios 6. If activator on ios 6 doesn't have those then I'm not sure what its included for, maybe you can't have dependencies based on ios version?
     
  11. eyoungren macrumors P6

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    Phoenix • 85037
    #11
    Yeah, but that was there long before Flipswitch. I have NCSettings, but I think it was there before that too. In any case, I've had switches for a very long time.

    Personally, I think it's just included as part of the default Activator install (now). I see it as acting like a disconnected light switch. Mechanically it works, but it doesn't do anything. All the other stuff is already handled by my other tweaks. So this is why I assume it's an iOS 7 specific thing.
     
  12. white4s thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2011
    Location:
    New Jersey
    #12
    well i have ccloader not cctoggles

    i read over it's updates & it's definitely nothing that i do or use on the phone

    the very strange part is the update is listed for february 1 2014 & it just showed up now, 4 months later?
     
  13. nwmtnbiker, Jun 30, 2014
    Last edited: Jun 30, 2014

    nwmtnbiker macrumors 68000

    nwmtnbiker

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2011
    Location:
    Fidalgo Island
    #13
    It is installed with activator has been since ios6 according to what I can find in my pictures. Many things including bitesms have flipswitch add ons now but I have never used them... I have CCSettings and Auki installed on my 7.1.1 JB and do not have Flipswitch anywhere but I was trying to stay away from Activator and Virtualhome style tweaks but don't know if I'll be able to!
     

    Attached Files:

  14. darricksailo macrumors 601

    darricksailo

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2012
    #14
    flipswitch is just essentially a centralized way of implementing switches

    activator may have had it built into the tweak before, and many apps also had their various methods of implementing switches

    but if they use the flipswitch framework, the developer doesn't have to code their own method of switches

    i guess you could say it creates a standard that makes a switch to work across many different apps/tweaks. whereas, before flipswitch, many implementations were "proprietary" and specific to their own respective tweak

    similar to how many tweaks use activator's framework instead of coding their own way of actions or gestures to invoke something


    at least, that's how I understand flipswitch works
     
  15. eyoungren macrumors P6

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    Phoenix • 85037
    #15
    I'll buy that. It's not far off from what I was thinking. Personally, it's not an issue to me. I don't have problems like some with dependencies and what not. I was mainly replying to the OP and offering my opinion on what I though flipswitch did.
     

Share This Page