FLIPVIDEO... is it compatible??

Discussion in 'MacBook' started by embalmess, Sep 18, 2008.

  1. embalmess macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2008
    #1
    Hi Mac Lovers!

    We just got a new FlipVideo to film our newborn, etc... and when we hook it up to the BlackMac, going through iPhoto, we can hear the video but just black screen :( It prompted us to download the latest of QuickTime which we did... still the same result. What are we doing wrong??

    Thanks! I can always count on you guys! :eek:
     
  2. jon4lakers macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2007
    Location:
    Orange County, CA
    #2
    I use the Flip Video Mino with my imac and it works perfectly. When you connect to your MB, it will open iphoto, just close it.

    Click on the 'Flip Video' Icon on your desktop

    Open up the 'DCIM' folder

    Open the '100Video' Folder

    In there you will see all your video clips. Simply drag them to your desktop or import them into imove.

    I hope this helps, good luck! Feel free to PM me if you have any other questions.

    - Jon
     
  3. apunkrockmonk macrumors 6502a

    apunkrockmonk

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2005
    Location:
    Rochester, NY
    #3
    it may be an avi file.

    you would need to download an avi codec of some kind if that is the case and you don't already have one.

    that sounds like the problem to me.
     
  4. embalmess thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2008
    #4
    Apunk... I dont know but it still won't work. Can you tell me how to do that?? What do I download??
     
  5. embalmess thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2008
    #5
    a bit later... i found AVS4you.com ?? Will that work? Why won't it simply work with the QuickTime I already have? Grrr :confused:
     
  6. apunkrockmonk macrumors 6502a

    apunkrockmonk

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2005
    Location:
    Rochester, NY
    #6
    Go here, then click free download, I don't know if it includes some b.s. player or anything.... but if it does don't bother installing it.

    All you need is the codec and then quicktime will play the video(s) fine.
     
  7. embalmess thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2008
    #7
    Later... I give up, it won't even download :( Got a link for me? Sorry to be so annoying *sigh*


    Oh, just got your post, I will try it!!!
     
  8. embalmess thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2008
    #9
    Ok Apunk, all downloaded and I stuck it in my dock! Now what do I do?? FlipVideo icon on my desktop! :rolleyes:
     
  9. apunkrockmonk macrumors 6502a

    apunkrockmonk

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2005
    Location:
    Rochester, NY
    #10
    After the codec is installed you can just navigate to the videos themselves, double click on them and they'll open in quicktime.

    I don't bother with the stupid flip software...

    They should be located in FLIP_VIDEO>DCIM>100VIDEO.
     
  10. embalmess thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2008
    #11
    It works!!!!!!! Thank you so much! :D:D:D

    So I don't have to open anything else then, it just automatically converts on its own somehow I guess? Great, thanks again!!!!
     
  11. apunkrockmonk macrumors 6502a

    apunkrockmonk

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2005
    Location:
    Rochester, NY
    #12
    The codec doesn't convert the video it just allows you to view it.

    The original video files remain unchanged.

    And no problem!
     

Share This Page