Flushing gtx680 - second card

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by kunia, May 2, 2013.

  1. kunia macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2010
    #1
    Just got the pc version of the gtx 680. Works great. Huge bump to fps in wow under OS X and bf3 under windows comparing to 5870

    Now, I want to flush it Mac rom.
    Ill follow this post http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=1565735&page=6 but the only card I have that wont need a power cable is gt120. Will this work, or do I need an ati card so that i dont screw up the gt120?
     
  2. cal6n macrumors 68000

    cal6n

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2004
    Location:
    Gloucester, UK
    #2
    If you look at post 170 in that thread, there's a link to a method you can use in bootcamp that doesn't require a second card.
     
  3. kunia thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2010
    #3
    Yea I saw that, but I googled around and found out that people had problems flushing the card with win 7 64 bit
     
  4. cal6n macrumors 68000

    cal6n

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2004
    Location:
    Gloucester, UK
  5. kunia thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2010
    #5
    so, NVFLASH for windows? which version? And mind if you tell me more or less how you did it.
     
  6. cal6n macrumors 68000

    cal6n

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2004
    Location:
    Gloucester, UK
    #6
    I just followed the instructions here, just changing the file names to suit, thus:


    To flash the BIOS, download the latest version of nvflash here.
    Extract the nvflash files to C:\
    Unzip and save the attached Mac Edition BIOS file (gtx68mac.rom) to C:\
    open elevated cmd window (hit start button, type "cmd", right click cmd icon, run as administrator)
    Change directory to C:\ (type "cd C:\", without the quotes, obviously)
    OPTIONAL: type "nvflash --protectoff" then hit enter (turns off any error msg that may result from software write protection)
    BACKUP ORIGINAL BIOS: Type "nvflash -b backup.rom" and a copy of your bios will be saved to the nvflash directory
    Type "nvflash -4 -5 -6 gtx68mac.rom"
    Wait for it to finish
    Reboot
    OPTIONAL: reinstall drivers

     

    Attached Files:

  7. kunia thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2010
    #7
    and you did that on windows 7 64 bit right?
     
  8. cal6n macrumors 68000

    cal6n

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2004
    Location:
    Gloucester, UK
    #8
    Yes. I think some people have problems because they try to use the normal cmd, rather than running it as administrator.
     
  9. kunia thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2010
    #9
    Thanks:)
    Just wanted to make sure.
     
  10. xcodeSyn macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2012
    #10
    If you do a Google search on "nvflash for windows", there are at least 2 versions, 5.134.0.1 and 5.95.0.1. The 5.134 version works in Windows XP, but not the other. It's easy to find out which one works in your OS since you definitely need to back up the current rom file before flashing. BTW, what is the brand and model of your GTX 680? You need to make sure it conforms to the reference design before flashing.
     
  11. kunia thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2010
    #11
    EVGA GeForce GTX 680 | 02G-P4-2680-KR

    I'll try using NVFlash 5.134.0.1 for Windows - it comes with 64-bit sys file (i think)
     
  12. Moleyman69 macrumors member

    Moleyman69

    Joined:
    May 12, 2009
    #12
    Thanks for the info - going to try it on my PNY when it arrives...
     
  13. kunia thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2010
    #13
    Right click on the application (or link) and pick run as administrator :p
     
  14. kunia thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2010
    #14
    Thanks for helping out:) Just flushed the replacement card, and got the good old gray apple screen at boot:)
     
  15. BigYellow macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2006
    #15
    Does this method allow you to have the boot disk selection screen when you hold Option while booting?
     
  16. kunia thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2010
    #16
    Yup.
     

Share This Page