Flying with new Mac Pro

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by dolphinspirit, Jan 27, 2014.

  1. dolphinspirit macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2014
    #1
    Yes I know it is early but has anyone flown in the US with their new Mac Pro as carry on?
    I saw one tweet where someone said TSA confiscated it but then I saw an article by a NY Times reporter who said she flew with it as carry on.
    Thanks
     
  2. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #2
    Will the case/suite case be within the dimensions of what is allowable for carry on

    Also depending on the airline, it will or will not allow it as checked luckage.

    Consider this from Delta
    • 1 purse, briefcase, camera bag or diaper bag
    • or 1 laptop computer (computers cannot be checked)
    • or 1 item of a similar or smaller size to those listed above


    Be sure to check with the airline you're flying with.
     
  3. dolphinspirit thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2014
    #3
    Thank you Mike

    Yes, the dimensions will be within the checked luggage requirements.
    I was mostly interested about TSA as they are the most difficult to deal with but thanks for also mentioning the airline as well.
     
  4. jondunford macrumors 6502

    jondunford

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2013
    Location:
    Going for a poo Moderator
    #4
    to be fair it kind of does look like it could be a bomb
     
  5. wheelhot macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2007
    #5
    Haha, cuz we know TSA gets confused with these kind of things :rolleyes:
     
  6. koban4max macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2011
    #6
    Try it out for us...let see if TSA will take yours before you could even carry it.
     
  7. iBighouse macrumors 6502a

    iBighouse

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2012
    #7
    Ummm...what if you wore it as a hat? Put it upside down on your head and put a tassel on it. Maybe they'll just think your a traveling Shriner.
     
  8. ssls6 macrumors 6502a

    ssls6

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2013
    #8
    Looks like a jet engine to me....maybe if you make the fan spin fast enough it will fly :)
     
  9. dolphinspirit thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2014
    #9
    Most likely not!

    After doing a bit of research it appears that TSA only allows computers if they are laptops and they don't allow just desktop computers per se.
    Kind of makes sense unfortunately.:(
     
  10. MH01 macrumors G4

    MH01

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2008
    #10
    One confused reporter, she was better off carrying a camera instead of a desktop..... maybe she has not heard of laptops ;)
     

Share This Page