Flyover mode in Maps uses ARKit

Discussion in 'iOS 11' started by Jensend, Jun 29, 2017.

  1. Jensend, Jun 29, 2017
    Last edited: Jun 29, 2017

    Jensend macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2008
    #1
    Now anyone can try an ARKit app without compiling their own app with Xcode. Unfortunately, you can't see the camera feed on the screen at all, so you can't really judge the accuracy very easily.
     
  2. IndianBird macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
  3. Jensend thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2008
    #3
    I did a search for New York, selected the result for the city, and it brings up a side bar about NYC that has a Flyover button
     
  4. IndianBird macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    #4
    Very cool. Thanks. Near feature.
     
  5. Prozak0820 macrumors regular

    Prozak0820

    Joined:
    May 14, 2015
    Location:
    Stuttgart, Germany
    #5
    Works well just used it for London. Was slow to load though. Made a video clip.
     
  6. Julien macrumors G3

    Julien

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2007
    Location:
    Atlanta
    #6
    You can also click on the 3D Flyover icon on a city in map view just like in iOS 10. It just that in iOS 10 it was a preset Flyover and now it AR.
     
  7. gwhizkids macrumors 68020

    gwhizkids

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2013
    #7
    The best thing about it is the ability to pan around simply by moving your phone. No need to rotate with your fingers, etc...Very intriguing.
     
  8. Julien macrumors G3

    Julien

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2007
    Location:
    Atlanta
    #8
    Even better with an iPad.;)
     
  9. gwhizkids macrumors 68020

    gwhizkids

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2013
    #9
    A new iPad. My Air 2 can't do it.
     
  10. Luiggi7 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2017
    #10
    I don’t know how you do that. I only see a 3D impressive drone view of important cities. But nothing related with AR. If I see 3D free view with compass I can see the zone where I am and rotating the phone does the same with the map. But my camera does not show nothing. Where is AR here? Sorry because may be I don’t see it....
     
  11. Julien macrumors G3

    Julien

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2007
    Location:
    Atlanta
    #11
    IMG_BE9EF4C05900-1.jpeg
     
  12. johnmed macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2009
    Location:
    uk
    #12
    Thanks for finding this. It’s quite intriguing.
     
  13. Julien macrumors G3

    Julien

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2007
    Location:
    Atlanta
    #13
    Yes it is SUPER cool/fun/WOW but unfortunately not nearly as useful as Street View is.
     
  14. Luiggi7 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2017
    #14
    I insist. What is related with AR? When is the moment joining reality (from camera) and renders?
     
  15. Julien macrumors G3

    Julien

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2007
    Location:
    Atlanta
    #15
    It
    Read the Thread Title:
    It uses ARKit to render.
     
  16. Luiggi7 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2017
    #16
    Ok. Thanks
     
  17. KUKitch macrumors 6502

    KUKitch

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2008
    Location:
    England
    #17
    Pretty cool - haven't actually used that at all to this point but that's interesting
     
  18. kave macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2012
    Location:
    Sweden
    #18
    It worked yesterday but not now. No 3D image at all in maps.
     

Share This Page