Focusrite Saffire in Windows/Boot Camp

Discussion in 'Digital Audio' started by rainydays, Aug 20, 2007.

  1. rainydays macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2006
    #1
    Hi!

    I'd just like to know if anyone has managed to successfully install their Focusrite Saffire interface in Windows on their Mac?

    I have a Saffire LE and it never manages to install correctly. The software mixer say that it can't connect to it, and no software is able to use it. The device manager also say that the device isn't installed properly.

    I read a review of the MacBook Pro a while ago where the reviewer also had problems getting his Saffire Pro to work with Boot Camp.

    So I suppose that it might have something to do with the Firewire driver that Apple provides? Perhaps someone knows of a different driver that would work better?

    Thanks.
     
  2. Plumbstone macrumors regular

    Plumbstone

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    #2
    Have you installed the updated drivers included in bootcamp 1.4?
     
  3. MacInbowl macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2007
    Location:
    Montreal, Canada
    #3
    I purchased a Saffire Pro 26 i/0 5 weeks ago and returned it last week. I tried for 4 week to make it works with my macbook pro (using Logic and Digital Performer) and a Yamaha DM2000 without success. The clock is really fragile and as soon as I made change in the control application, the unit simply disconnect from the firewire port.

    After a couple of mail with product specialist, they just told me I was pushing the things too far with a 20 track recording...

    I decided to spend some extra bucks and went for the RME FireFace 800. All my problem went away...

    Si I guess that it can't really work better on boot camp...

    Good luck!!
     
  4. rainydays thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2006
    #4
    Yes. And I've tried both on the MacBook and the iMac. Don't know if they use the same firewire controller, but the problem is there on both.
     
  5. rainydays thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2006
    #5
    Well I actually had a Presonus Firebox that worked great, but I was never really happy with the knobs on the box and the software mixer, so I switched to a Saffire LE. It has worked very well in OS X so far, but I can't get it working in Windows. Since I have my monitors connected directly to the Saffire it's the only way to get decent sound without pluggin in a mixer.
     
  6. matthewjumps macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2007
    #6
    im running windows xp sp2 on my new macbook pro (2.2GHz 15"), and am having no luck installing the focusrite saffire pro 26io firewire audio interface...the installation gets to the point where it asks to connect the device, then lets windows install its drivers (i think this is incorrect since i seem to recall the saffire should install its own special drivers) - and then once thats done, when the installer attempts to boot the device it fails...

    basically every time i plug it in it seems that as soon as windows recognises it - the light on the interface goes off and thats it, it refuses to do anything.

    i can run it perfectly using osx 10.5 leopard btw.

    i ran the latest update and the saffire still didnt get recognised, hence i couldnt update the firmware cause it said it wasnt plugged in.

    i then switched to OSX and ran the latest mac firmware update, and it updated perfectly.

    switched back to windows and the problem remained - no matter what version of the drivers i installed, the unit fails to get recognised...i turn it on, light goes green briefly, then stays off - when it should flicker for a bit and then stay on.

    its funny cause if i go into device manager it lists it in there - but not in the audio devices section...

    but the saffire control panel dont seem to recognise it

    anyone please help?
     
  7. matthewjumps macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2007
    #7

Share This Page