Focusrite Scarlett Interface and Mavericks?

Discussion in 'Digital Audio' started by generdude, Dec 3, 2013.

  1. generdude macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2013
    #1
    I'm interested in the Focusrite Scarlett 2i2 2 In/2 Out USB Recording Audio Interface and am wondering if anyone has any experience using it with Mavericks OX X 10. 9. The manufacturer's website states this:
    "Some users have reported experiencing audio glitches and drop outs with the Scarlett range of interfaces since updating to OS X 10.9 Mavericks. If you are experiencing these problems with your interface, it is possible to utilise Apple’s USB audio driver by downloading and running the class compliant mode application below, while we investigate further."
     
  2. bennibeef macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 22, 2013
    #2
    I'm running a Scarlett 18i20 with Mavericks, it worked perfectly the last few weeks but the last couple of days sometimes it doesnt get the audio once a day, off and on its going again. There is I think a Mavericks driver on the Focusrite homepage but I havent installed it yet, I am using the one I installed when I had Mountain Lion
     
  3. generdude thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2013
    #3
    OK, thanks. Keep me posted. I went and ordered it but I won't get to test it out till next week. I'll report back also.
     
  4. bwhli macrumors 6502a

    bwhli

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2012
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    #4
    My friend has been running his Scarlett 2i2 on 10.9 with no issues. He is using the latest driver from Focusrite.
     
  5. generdude thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2013
    #5
    Focusrite Scarlett Interface and Mavericks?

    Update: I just got the 2i2 and I haven't encountered any problems so far with Mavericks.
     
  6. Fiddledust macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2008
    #6
    Focusrite Scarlett Interface and Mavericks?

    I have the 8i6 with Mavericks. When it works it is great. Sadly, it doesn't work all of the time. Focusrite still has some work to do.
     
  7. Fishrrman macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    #7
    IMPORTANT QUESTION:

    Does the Mac have a fusion drive, or not?
     
  8. Fiddledust macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2008
    #8
    Focusrite Scarlett Interface and Mavericks?

    My new iMac has a fusion drive but the old one does not. I have the problem with both.
     
  9. generdude thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2013
    #9
    My late 2013 MBP Retina has flash storage. My late 2012 iMac has a 5400-rpm hard drive. So far no problems but I've only had the 2i2 for a couple of days.
     
  10. furberto macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2008
    #10
    Hi! I resume this thread to ask you a question. ;-)

    In a few days, i'll have my new Scarlett 2i2 and i'll have to install it on my Mac (with Mavericks).
    I can not understand if I have to install first the drivers of the site (Focusrite USB 2 Driver-1.5) and remove them only if they give me problems (using the classcompliantmode app).

    It is quite difficult to talk with Focusrite's assistance and the only (but very kind) answer I got was: "The Scarlett 2i2 is a class compliant device, meaning that on Apple computers it does not need any driver to run. Class Compliant Mode simply removes our driver (if any are installed) and runs the Scarlett on the Apple Core Audio driver. This does not remove any functionality from the Scarlett or Mix Control but can lead to stability in situations such as yours."

    Reading that, i can understand that I'll can directly plug the 2i2 without installing any driver. Sounds nice, but led me to a question: if the 2i2 is a class compliant device and "This does not remove any functionality from the Scarlett", why they offer an alternative driver on the site?

    Maybe is a very dumb question, but it continues to buzz in my head ;-P

    TNX
     
  11. generdude thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2013
    #11
    Yeah, I don't know why either. I downloaded the Class Compliant Mode app and have not had any problems.
     
  12. mus0r macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2005
    #12
    I have a Saffire and have been using it with Mav since day one. Very happy with both.
     
  13. uhPennyfoKenny macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2014
    #13
    Problem

    Hey I just received my 2i2 a few days ago and everything seems to work fine but I just tried to record today and I could not get anything through. The best I got was the light to blink when there was sound going through the mic. I can't seem to get any recording through. I'm running Logic Pro 9. Please help.

    Thanks,
    Kenny
     

Share This Page